Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I received my grey knight preorders some time ago and have had them in store a couple times for games. I run Karamazov in my 2000pt list and a question came up last game. People watching told me I could use the heavy1 OSR on the move because I was relentless. I told them everyone who could use OSR was relentless and that didn't matter, you still cannot move and shoot.
As many of them were waiting for their knights they said they would use it on the move, thats why one of them was heavy instead of ordinance. Thats when I said "not against me" and the debate began.
I told them it was heavy because it was highest strebgth there is plus lance plus full strength without the hole over the vehicle. To add ordinance rule of roll 2d6 and pick highest for penetration would be lunacy in an already ludacris army.
Where do you guys stand? All my knights will be fully painted and ready to game on Saturday and Im sure it will come up again.
In my opinion it's clear from the wording of the rule. It's not a question of whether the unit is relentless or not (incidentally a Techmarine can take an OSR and they don't have relentless), but that extra wording within the OSR rules which states that you cannot fire the OSR if you have moved. Codex overrides BRB, therefore no moving and firing the OSR.
As for the Ordnance vs Heavy side of your question, the rules on p58 are quite specific about which fire modes are ordnance and which are heavy. The Lance strike won't be rolling 2d6 and picking the highest for armour penetration. At least not if people are following the rules
As a side note, I wish they had called the Barrage Bomb something different, because that's just begging for the question of "did the designers intend for it to have Barrage as one if it's rules as well?". Locally we've chosen to play it RAW, but I don't think it would hurt terribly if the profile was "Ordnance Barrage d3, Large Blast".
I have too many armies to list in my signature!
Im glad you guys see it that way too. It seemed just as obvious to me too. For the barrage bomb, I actually did treat it like a d3 barrage. I just noticed now that it doesn't actually say barrage when you mentioned that... I don't think it made a difference the one time I used that strike though, but next time I won't treat it like a barrage unless they faq it.
Id just play it RAW. It doesnt have barrage in the profile thus it isnt a barrage weapon. As for the Lance strike not being ordinance, thatd be because itd be broken if it did. S10 AP1 hit even if you arent directly under the hole + choose the highest of 2D6 armour pen rolls would just wreck vehicles.
Space Wolves (Under Construction) | Circle of Orboros (Under Construction)