Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Does this rule allow you to use a force weapon even after using another psychic power?
(is it a special exception to the normal force weapon 1 x psychic power rule)
using the force weapon counts as using a psychic power for the turn so i would assume that so long as a mastery lv2 only uses 1 other power then yes he can use a forcesword's forcyness
GK Nemesis Force Weapons are Force Weapons but with their own special rules.
As Force Weapons they are automatically counted as Power Weapons, even if you do not make any Psychic test.
Also each different type of Nemesis weapon has its own special rule which applies even if you do not make any Psychic test. See Further Abilities page 54 of the GK codex.
If you do make (and pass) a Psychic Test, they obey the Force Weapons rule from page 54 of the GK Codex - instead of the rules from the main rule book pg50
Not all Nemesis weapons are Daemonbanes - see the Codex for details.
So for example, if a GK Strike Squad, with no other Psyker attached, is Assaulted or Assaults, they can use their Psy test to attempt to gain the Hammerhand power, or to gain the Force Weapons power.
I hope this helps
Nice reply (Rep)
1 point though: So are you saying we have to try for force wep psychic rolls before the attack?
I always used to do that afterwards (old codex), has this changed?
it used to only be applicable if a multiwound model had taken a wound, i think
so i never would bother before only if there was a chance.
The 'Force Weapons' rule on pg54 of the Codex states when to do this test (i.e. based on the main rule Force Weapons rules), so I won't post GWs rules here other than to say "after the first unsaved wounds are taken".
It's all very simple. Each Mastery level lets you use 1 power. So at level 1, it's either hammerhand or force weapon, but not both. At level 2, you can do both hammerhand and activate your force weapon.
This is assuming just the unit only without any IC's attached. If you were to add an IC, you could use an additional power (depending on the IC's mastery level). For example, your Grandmaster joins a unit of knights. Now you have 2 psykers in that unit, both of which can only use 1 power. In this case, the GM would cast hammerhand and give the entire unit +1S. The unit is then free to still activate their force weapons as they haven't used their psychic power yet. The GM, however, already used his psychic power casting hammerhand and won't be able to activate his force weapons. Note that force weapons for separate units (IC's and the units they are attached to) are activated separately.
Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2
Activating the Force Weapons happens after the unsaved wounds element. This is clearly mentioned in the ruling in the Codex where it talks about different Initiative levels. If you have models with Force Halberds as well as Force Swords in your unit, the Psychic Test to activate Force Weaponry is taken after the unsaved wounds caused by the Halberds, since they will have struck first. So you still have to cause an unsaved wound before you test to activate your force weapon.
For units which only have access to a single psychic power activation ability, you will have to make the decision EITHER to gain the advantage of the Hammerhand ability OR use your weapons as Force Weapons. You won't be able to do both as it will require two psychic tests, which the unit cannot perform due to their mastery level.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"