Quick GK ?'s - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Quick GK ?'s

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    362
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    25 (x1)

    Quick GK ?'s

    Hi all so recently had a game against GK. The GK player took a Grand Master with an orbital bombardment upgrade that let him do a Str 10 Lance Blast. He said that he could use this every single turn. For 50pts that item alone accounted for my LR, 2 Predators, and a Rhino. Seems a bit ridiculous so I wanted to make sure it wasn't a one use only.

    Other ? is why would you take a Daemon Hammer on your Dreadknight? If the doomfist hits at Str10 and allows you to hit in initiative order and you already have 2D6 vehicle for being a MC I don't see an upside. Thanks all!

    Armies: 40k: Imperial Guard, Orks Fantasy: Skaven

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    102
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    He can use the orbital strike every turn as long as the Grand Master didn't move in the movement phase.

  4. #3
    Senior Member Tuatara's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    264
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    107 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by HAB_Incognito View Post
    Hi all so recently had a game against GK. The GK player took a Grand Master with an orbital bombardment upgrade that let him do a Str 10 Lance Blast. He said that he could use this every single turn. For 50pts that item alone accounted for my LR, 2 Predators, and a Rhino. Seems a bit ridiculous so I wanted to make sure it wasn't a one use only.
    He destroyed all that in one game? Gee Willikess, that's some bad luck on your part. With their 2D6 scatter, you would have thought some might have missed. Or did they scatter onto other vehicles? But your mate is right, they can be used every round, so long as the GM doesn't move (as stuck804 mentioned).

    Quote Originally Posted by HAB_Incognito View Post
    Other ? is why would you take a Daemon Hammer on your Dreadknight? If the doomfist hits at Str10 and allows you to hit in initiative order and you already have 2D6 vehicle for being a MC I don't see an upside. Thanks all!
    The only real advantage is that thing about any unsaved wounds also meaning the target is reduced to initiative 1 next round, so no real advantage at all. In fact, you then also lose the extra attach each round for having two of the same weapons, and they bill you 10 points for the trouble. So you're right, no real upside and plenty of downside.

  5. #4
    Senior Member BarnyCarhamich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois
    Age
    30
    Posts
    259
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Tuatara View Post
    The only real advantage is that thing about any unsaved wounds also meaning the target is reduced to initiative 1 next round, so no real advantage at all. In fact, you then also lose the extra attach each round for having two of the same weapons, and they bill you 10 points for the trouble. So you're right, no real upside and plenty of downside.
    Has this been resolved? I'm not sure it's clear that the DCCW doubles his strength, since he's not a walker. That would make the 2 doomfists beneficial for their extra attack, the sword beneficial for the rerolls, and the hammer beneficial for the boosted strength.

  6. #5
    jy2
    jy2 is offline
    Hive Fleet Pandora jy2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    5,068
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    797 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Fuhrik View Post
    Has this been resolved? I'm not sure it's clear that the DCCW doubles his strength, since he's not a walker. That would make the 2 doomfists beneficial for their extra attack, the sword beneficial for the rerolls, and the hammer beneficial for the boosted strength.
    This will need a FAQ to be resolved. RAI is pretty clear. See the rules forum debate here (Dreadknight and nemesis doomfist).

    Don't forget a successful hit with a NDH will also shake a vehicle in addition to any other damage it will do (i.e. immobilised or weapon destroyed).
    Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
    Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
    Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by HAB_Incognito View Post
    Other ? is why would you take a Daemon Hammer on your Dreadknight? If the doomfist hits at Str10 and allows you to hit in initiative order and you already have 2D6 vehicle for being a MC I don't see an upside. Thanks all!
    But you're assuming that doomfist hits at S10.

    RAW right now is
    2 Doomfists = +1A
    Hammer = S10 I1
    Sword = Warptime+1

    Ofc simultaneously, giving him personal teleporter would make him jump infantry and he loses the 2d6 armor pen. 6+d6 is bad. But if he took hammer, it'd be 10+d6 which is good.

  8. #7
    jy2
    jy2 is offline
    Hive Fleet Pandora jy2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    5,068
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    797 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Terranarc View Post
    Ofc simultaneously, giving him personal teleporter would make him jump infantry and he loses the 2d6 armor pen. 6+d6 is bad. But if he took hammer, it'd be 10+d6 which is good.
    That is a croc of bullship. Play it that way and you will be laughed at by your opponent. The DK DOES NOT lose its monstrous creatures status. That is total rules exploitation and rules lawyering.
    Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
    Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
    Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x1)

    Indeed but the entire codex is a croc of bullship sailing in a sea of down syndrome captained by Troll Ward.
    But whats that? Do you dare defy the word of the Ward?

    Yeah I don't play GK and there's only 1 GK player at my LGS. And while I'd let my opponent use DK as a monstrous creature that moves like jump infantry, it's basically still a house rule. Until an FAQ comes out, RAW it is no longer monstrous creature.
    I play RAI but it always frustrates the hell out of me when lack of quality control creates a split between RAI and RAW.

    Also, at OP, you lost a vehicle every turn for 4 turns to that orbital bombard? Jeeze that's terrible luck or amazing luck on opponent's side.

  10. #9
    LO Zealot BossGorestompa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,349
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    291 (x5)

    If you think the Grand Master's orbital strike is bad cookies, you should see Inquisitor Karamazov in action
    I've recently become a fan of this thing called Dubstep. And you should too.
    Datsik & Flux Pavillion - Crunch (Youtube)
    Da Moo Kowz is da drinkinest Orks of dem all!

  11. #10
    Senior Member Tuatara's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    264
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    107 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Fuhrik View Post
    Has this been resolved? I'm not sure it's clear that the DCCW doubles his strength, since he's not a walker. That would make the 2 doomfists beneficial for their extra attack, the sword beneficial for the rerolls, and the hammer beneficial for the boosted strength.
    Doomfists "Follow rules for Dreadnought Close Combat Weapons" and they double the strength up to a max of 10.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts