Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Thinking of adding an eviscerator priest to Strakens ccs but not sure. Furious charge would make him s8 + 2d6 pen and with strakens s7 +2d6 pen would make them deadly vs vehicles plus rerolls for moving vehicles. With counterattack they would be decent vs. charging infantry with FNP...Not sure if I want these duties from my ccs though... thoughts?
He'd only be strength 7. I don't know if he's quite worth the points as he can be singled out and squished fairly easily even with the 4+ save. At 60 points he's a pricey one.
Why s7? Furious charge makes him s4 on charge and eviscerator uses power fist rules doubling him to s8 on the charge... Or were you talking about strakens s7 on the charge? Ya, its the points that have me wavering. With Straken and a medic + specials my ccs is pricey as it is, and I could almost field another hydra for the priests cost. Just trying to add more ummph to my ccs. I guess I could go the bodyguard route and make them more survivable.
With furious charge, it adds *AFTER* the doubling.
Praise the Emperor and pass the promethium!
Furious charge doesn't modify the unit's statistics; therefore, strength is doubled before the bonus is added. (Similarly, initiative tests for sweeping advance are taken without F.C.'s bonus.)Originally Posted by Strombole
[Hmph. IronWeevil +1, Intrepid 0 ]
A Priest can be worthwhile but the eviscerator is useless. You should be looking at the charge bonus, not the expensive, high-threat weapon carried by a lone weakling. And why are you trying to get Straken into close combat? He's a buffer, not a Death Star. Don't let his nice stats fool you into putting him on the frontline. His CCS remains a followup unit, at best.
It's worth pointing out that the Priest's charge bonus is not compatible with Straken's counter-charging. The counter-charge rule gives you the extra attack of charging but not charge-related bonuses like furious charge.
Last edited by Intrepid; April 26th, 2011 at 18:15.
"My tanks have names, my men have numbers." -Col. Edmund Grahvess, 23rd Kronecker Prison Guard
Straken gives FC and counterattack to the squad and anyone within 12... where is it either/or? If you charge its FC, if they do its CA... Where's the conflict?
Ya, the whole cc thing was why I said I wasn't sure I wanted those kind of duties for my ccs in my first post. Where does it say that a PF doubles before FC... Its not that I don't believe you but my GW always plays it opposite and hammer weilding GKs hit at s10 at my local GW after hammerhand all the time. Can I get a page reference because that isn't how my local GW plays it?
The reason I thought of it is because I have a very assaulty mindset thats why my other armies are orks, BAs, GKs and assaulty white scars... I dunno, even with guard I have to fight the assaulting urge, lol
Last edited by Strombole; April 26th, 2011 at 18:40.
Come visit my blog at: www.warstrike.org
Oh, I see what you guys are saying... Counter-attack doesn't let you use FC when someone else charges you....Actually I never thought that it did. Sorry if I misled anyone with that. Each bonus is good in cc is the only thing I was talking about. Whether you charge or he charges you get something good was my point. Sorry for the mixup.
I rarely read FAQs... is that where they cleared up when the PF doubling takes place before strength bonuses? Or have I forgotten a line in the rulebook... I don't have the rulebook with me but might pop into GW after work.
Anyway, screw it, I'll leave my list the way it is. I just wanted to explore some assault possibilities for late in the game objective taking for the APOC tourny coming up. But I'll just try to shoot the hell out of who I face and let the hydras, vendettas, russes, baneblade and stormlord, etc, do their work, and hopefully they can shoot the crap out of everything before assaulting becomes an issue. Its only a 3k game, so I think I have a good mix of firepower and manpower. I know a couple people bringing some heavy stuff, but a lot more people I know are just bringing 3k codex lists without anything particularly heavy. Against them, I'm hoping they get overwhelmed by the Baneblade and shot to death by the stormlord's megabolter and all the heavy weapons shooting from the fighting platform.
If anyone can point me to a page reference or FAQ link that sorts out the whole PF doubling thing, I would appreciate it. That way I can go into GW and say, "here look!"
From the Rulebook FAQ
Q: Does a unit that successfully passes its counter-attack
Leadership test count as charging for all purposes? (p74)
A: No. They just gain the +1 assault bonus to their Attacks.
Nowhere in any of my posts did I say that counter-attack gives you any charging bonuses... nowhere! I'm not sure why everyone keeps harping on this...
The only thing I wanted a page reference for was where it says that PFs double your strength BEFORE adding strength bonuses because noone in my regular group plays like that so if we're all playing it wrong I wanted a pg number to show everyone and play it right... But don't worry about it anymore, I'll reread the rules tonight. People will just keep telling me that CA doesn't give FC which I already knew and never said it did. Reread my posts if you think I said it did!