Welcome to Librarium Online!
The basic inquisitor is not a psyker, you have to buy the upgrade. The ordo malleus can buy a nemesis daemon hammer witch is a force weapon without getting upgrade to a psyker. Can he still activate the force weapon?
As far as I've seen he should as the rule book states that force weapon are used 'exclusively by trained psykers.' If only psykers can use them, that should mean that buying a daemon hammer would 1 give him a force weapon 2 make him a psyker with his only skill of activating the force weapon. Is my line of thinking right here?
By that logic, buying someone a scalpel would make them a surgeon. Therefore I would have thought the answer to your question would be "No". You need to buy the "upgrade to psyker" before you could activate it (assuming you have not already used you power for hammerhand).
You can buy the daemonhammer, but will be unable to activate it. Unless up upgrade him to a psyker he simply weild an ornate Powerfist equivalent.
Force weapons are are potent psychic weapon used exclusively by trained psykers. They have the same effects as power weapons, but also confer to the wielder one additional psychic power, used in close combat, that can instantly extinguish the life force of any opponnt.)
That's right out of the rule book. It states that it gives them a psychic power, meaning they would now be psykers right? Given him a psychic power would make him a psyker, if not then why did they make it a daemon hammer and not a thunder hammer like the ordo hereticus inquisitor?
For example, a Rune Priest has two psychic powers and a force weapon. IE he has 3 psychic powers, but the only reason he is allowed to use any powers is because the rules say he can. As base he can only use 1 per turn (one of the three he has available) and if he wants to use 2 powers he has to buy an upgrade.
An Inquisitor is not a psyker and the rules do not allow him to use psychic powers. The only way he can use any powers he might have is to buy an upgrade that allow him to actually use powers.
100% straight forward with no trickery at all.
Last edited by Hockeyman506; May 2nd, 2011 at 00:09.
How much does the daemon hammer cost for the inquisitor? And how much does the DH + psyker cost together?
I understand that I do but it brings up a few problems if you do it the way.
Under options an inquisitor
*May replace bolt pistol and/or chainsword with: ---- nemesis daemon hammer, -----
*May upgrade to a psyker (mastery level 1), with ether the Hammerhand or Psychic Communion psychic power, exchanging any one weapon for a force weapon.
This means to get a daemon hammer you replace a bolt pistol or chainsword while upgrade to a psyker, forces you to replace a weapon and carry a force weapon. And not a daemon hammer but a standard force weapon. Following your lines of thinking would mean that in order to use a daemon hammer's instant death ability, you would need to be equipped with the daemon hammer and a force weapon.
The rule book says that only psykers can use force weapons. Having an inquisitor that is not a psyker running around with a force weapon would be in conflict with that rule. And yes I know the codex rules can override and main rule book's. But the way it's set up, I don't believe that is the case here. Given the option to take a daemon hammer would make little sense if you could not use it's force weapon ability. Might as well of just made it a thunder hammer if their not going to use it's rules.