Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've never played or even been to a tournament, and I'm totally new to the game. I hear that if you have a normal Imperial army (say IG), and add Demonhunter allies, the list isn't allowed in most tournaments, even if it's totally legal for friendly play. Is this true?
On the other end of the spectrum, if I have a Demonhunter army, and I use inducted Imperial Guard units, are those units illegal in most tournaments, or just accepted as a natural part of the army organization?
I know it all probably varies on a case by case basis, but I'd like to get an idea for the most common rules people have encountered. If anything, what do the big official GW Gamesday rules say about this?
It may depend on the organizers but I seen a guy use GNTs in his SM force during a Grand Tourney. Most codex's donâ€™t list allies and never even mention there use but in the DH codex it spells out there legal usage's.
I *believe* you CAN use DH/WH in other imperial armies for Tournies, as it's a GW rule. It isn't like you're using Forgeworld rules or multiple FOC's or anything. Then again, it's worth checking out before the tourney!
i've always heard that in tournys, no allies are allowed. however, i've also heard the WH/DH are allowed (as per the codex).
rule of thumb, ask the people putting on the tourny.
I just got done reading the 2004/2005 GW tourny rules and Inducted units are allowed if useing a DH or WH codex as base. It does however state that they cannot be chosen as allies for other imperial forces.
I'd assume not, since DH taking WH (or vice versa) is the same as IG/SM taking DH/WH allies.
It stated that you had to follow the parent Codex and because the DH and WH codex outline rules for there use it was going to be allowed this gaming season.
So if your using the WH as the parent dex then it would be just fine according to there rule pack.
No.. If your using the IG or SM dex as a base then you have no rules for using allies in your codex.Originally posted by mEGALOMANIAC@Oct 13 2004, 19:44
I'd assume not, since DH taking WH (or vice versa) is the same as IG/SM taking DH/WH allies.[snapback]229453[/snapback]
Well you still can't use base DH with allied WH, there aren't rules for that, only WH with allied DH. It may be a stupid oversight in GW's writing, but until they correct it...