Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've read some posts in here about DH's (Daemon Hunters) allying with WH's (Witch Hunters) and have an allies question I'd like your interpretation of please?
It says in the WH's codex that your cannot take GK's (Grey Knights) from the DH codex or any other Space marines for that matter as allies for a WH army if that WH army has SoB's (Sisters of Battle) in it. True or have I miss-interpreted this?
It then says in the DH's codex that you can take SoB's from the WH's codex as allies for a DH force, even if that DH force includes GK's?
Admittedly there are restrictions on which WH & SoB units are available in this type of army but doesnt this seem a little strange that it would work one way and not the other?
Does anyone know of any overriding rule that does allow for GK's to be included in a WH army that also contains SoB's?
Or if I want to do this type of configuration do I have to declare my army as DH's rather than WH's?
All comments appreciated.
First, it is my impression, and that of all those I have talked to(including my GW store manager) that you can take GK's of all kinds in a WH army. As well, it works the other way, as long as you follow the restrictions set out in the codex
eg. HQ 0-X
Elites 0-X and so on
It is only when normal marines (non =][=) are taken in a WH army that the SOB's are not allowed to be on the FOC
You can have grey knights in an army with sisters, for all purposes they are not considered space marines, so the limitation of not taking marines with sisters does not apply.
Quote from WH codex:
'The following units may be used in a Witch Hunters army to represent units which have been temporarily put under the command of an inquititor lord or ADEPTA SORORITAS Heroine.'
and a few lines further down:
'... and allied space marine units may not be used if any Adepta Sororitas units are present in the army.'
An odd way of putting things... I understand what they mean, but they could have put it in a clearer way...
"I have died a thousand deaths, and I will die a million more..."
that means that if your base force is sisters of battle, or witch hunters, you cannot have sisters and still induct space marines. If the space marines are the base army sisters can still tag along as/per the ally rules.
Thanks people for your input.idinos, does the above appear in writing somewhere (codex, 4th ed, CA etc) so I can substantiate it for an opponent? Tks.Originally posted by idinos@Oct 13 2004, 19:25
You can have grey knights in an army with sisters, for all purposes they are not considered space marines...[snapback]228905[/snapback]
Look at p. 7 of the daemonhunters codex "the Grey Knights do not follow the tenets of the Codex Astartes". Space Marines have their own codex, while the Grey Knights are part of the Ordo Malleus, not another Space Marine Chapter. All of the Grey Knight rules are different than those of the Space Marines. The only similarity I see is that they use similar weapons and the same type of armour. Anyway, I have personally taken a Sisters army with some Grey Knight terminators to a GW tournament where the lists are really picked apart for mistakes, and they found none, so it is a good indication that you can use Grey Knights with Sisters.
Your getting confused here. Allied Space Marines are NOT the same as having an allied army. Allied Space Marines and Inducted Imperial Gaurd are additional options for your army. If you have a legal Witch Hunter Army, you may take the 'nilla Space Marine or Imperial Gaurd units listed overleaf on page 26, in the grey box. Space Marines cannot be taken with SoB as an Inquisitor would not call for them if there were Sisters available. A force created in this way is counted as being one Witch Hunters army.
An alliance of TWO amies is a different matter. If you wish to ally your Witch Hunters to another force, you must create a legal force of one of the army types listed in the grey box on page 25. Doing this restricts how much of what unit type you can take from the Witch Hunters codex, as detailed in the same grey box. A force created this way is representative of TWO armies working together.
The rules for doing either of these optons do not affect one another. The confusion originates from GW using the phrase'Allied Space Marines', even when they're nothing to do with an allied army. And no, Grey Knights are not Space Marines. When it refers to Space Marines, it means things from the Space Marine codex. In the list of alliances, it mentions both Grey Knights and Space Marines seperately, and in the list of Allied Space Marine units, it lists only things from the Space Marine Codex.
Awesome people! Thanks for your replies!idinos, how did you go? I was considering doing either a Bro Cpt HQ with Term retinue or a FA unit of GK's (Deep Striking) added to my WH army.Originally posted by idinos@Oct 14 2004, 18:24
...I have personally taken a Sisters army with some Grey Knight terminators to a GW tournament...[snapback]229571[/snapback]
Were the Terms a good addition?
I wouldn't know, I rolled snake eyes for deep striking (it was still with the old rules). In friendly games though they tend to be mediocre at best.