Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So I am conflicted on this subject and present it to you for a ruling or general comments.
I have some Death Korps of Krieg models and am using them in the Siege list presented by FW linked here: 6th ed rumors - Warhammer 40k, Fantasy, Wargames & Miniatures Forum: Bell of Lost Souls Lounge
My question is can the artillery (ordnance barrage ie medusa/heavy mortar) fire inside the minimum range if they are in line of sight.
Vehicles can do this according to pg 58 under the Ordnance Barrage weapons section, however it starts said section with "Differently from other unit types, vehicles carrying ordnance barrage weapons can choose to fire them either directly or as a barrage - declare before you fire". What makes me want to say that they cant is the part where it says "differently from other unit types". On the other hand the artillery section on page 55 states that "The gun models are treated as vehicles with an Armour Rating of 10 (see vehicles section)." So which statement takes precedence.
I am more inclined to believe that they cant shoot inside the min range, but wishful thinking hopes that you can if you have line of sight. Anyone run into this problem before? It is a fairly unique problem because I dont know how many ordnance barrage artillery pieces there are in the game outside of Krieg.
Thanks for your thoughts
They can fire directly if they don't have a note in their rules preventing them from doing so. If they fire directly, they ignore minimum range, but cover is measured from the firing model's line of sight, rather than the template as if they fired indirectly. On the upside, you now reduce scatter by your BS. If they fire directly, they're just regular Ordnance weapons (ie, no Pinning test).
Also, Regular guard are only missing the Quad Gun, Bombard, and Heavy Mortar for artillery options. But on the upside, we have more Self-Propelled Artillery. So yay!
Last edited by Stradius; June 21st, 2011 at 00:12.
"The sergeant major asked me what my job is. I told him it's to do what I am told. He gave me a medal. I like the Imperial Guard."
"Innocentia Probat Nihil"
Also note that you can fire "directly or as barrage", meaning that if you fire directly you do not get the advantages that "barrage" gives you. They do not cause a pinning check with a -1 modifier. And don't barrage weapons hit on side armor? Either I just can't find that rule or I'm suffering from Editionitus. If it does, then you don't get that advantage by firing directly.
Well regular guard have tanks that have earthshakers and medusa siege guns on them, but they do not have the artillery unit type rules. I am specifically talking about models that fall under the Artillery unit type which only includes Krieg guns, grot lobbas/zapguns, and eldar gun teams. Things like the basilisk fall under the vehicle rules that i quoted above. Thanks for your responses though.