Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
It was brought to my attention that Grand Master Mordrak is not an Independent Character; swirling this idea around, an interesting idea came to me.
The Grand Strategy cannot be used on:
- Independent Characters
- Inquisitorial Henchmen Bands
- Grand Master Mordrak's "unit of Ghost Knights"
The Grand Master himself is none of these (unless he is accompanied by the Ghost Knights).. could he potentially gift himself with the Spear of Light special rule, to give himself Scouts and possibly outflank? I am having trouble finding evidence to the contrary. Who knows how effective it might be, but the possibility might be worth investigating.
Thanks for looking!
2H - LEGIO HYDRA
I suppose that technically you could indeed use Spear of Light in that way. Not sure how it would be useful to scout or outflank a single GK Grand Master, though!
ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014
You could have him attached to a regular unit of Terminators, but I guess you would then need to give both the unit of Terminators and Mordrak the Spear of Light. The only reason you'd have Mordrak accompany a unit of regular Terminators though, is because you intended to deep strike with pin point accuracy, which in turn defeats the purpose of having Spear of Light. If you were going to deep strike Mordrak with Terminators, you'd be better off giving them Shield of Blades.
"The cure for a fallacious argument is a better argument, not the suppression of ideas." - Carl Sagan, The Demon Haunted World
No Tuatara you can't. The only unit Mordrak can "attach" to is Ghost Knights. He is an upgrade character (like Thawn), not an Independent Character. Otherwise Mordrak and some pallies would just be devastating.
Thanks for the quick replies!
I'm glad it's a possibility, even if it's one to be skeptical of. I wonder if Mat Ward intended to leave it that way, or it was just an oversight.
2H - LEGIO HYDRA
I do like to give crowe scout with spear of light, having him outflank is a much easier way to get him into the enemy before he dies =}
So, do we assume if mordrak is by himself, and bestows upon himself the ability to become scoring but then generates a Ghost knight, that they are still considered scoring, as the ghost knight unit was not the target of the ability?