Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I wanted to get back into 40k and I started a Space wolves army. One Character that intrigues me the most is the Rune Priest because of his kickass psychic powers. One in particular, the "Jaws of the World Wolf" can be considered to be his greatest psychic attack but has become a controversial topic. I am having problems executing the attack because my friends think i'm doing the attack the wrong way, I understand it is a psychic shooting attack so I have the roll to see if I pass my psychic test but I have other questions like...
1) After I pass my psychic test do I have to roll for it to hit and to wound the enemy models who are under the line before my enemy can roll his initiative test?
2) when my enemy rolls his initiative test, does he roll it for the whole squad or does each person caught under the line has to roll the initiative test for himself?
3)If i moved my Rune Priest in the movement phase am I still allowed to use Jaws of the world wolf
4) if my line goes through an independant character who happens to be in the squad, can he allocate the wounds on to his team?
5) does my Rune priest have to have line of sight to the enemy?
6) If the line passes through my men, do they have to take the test as well?
Thats all I got, if I have anymore ill add to the topic but if people could answer my questions that would be much appreciate it .
1. Jetbikes and Artillery Crew (but not the Artillery itself) may be affected by Jaws,
2. You may not take Cover Saves from Jaws and,
3. The line that the power uses is in effect a hairline. This prevents people from using something such as an inch thick ruler to messure and hit models standing side by side.
If you want to see the FAQ it can be found under the Gaming section of the Games Workshop or by following this link: http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_...ersion_1_1.pdf
Ask me about the Black and White Space Marine on the Black and White Bike!!!
For the first question, the main Rulebook FAQ says that you do need to roll to hit for psychic shooting attacks. That would make me think that you would need to hit for Jaws since it describes it as a psychic shooting attack in the Codex.
The issue with saying that you need to roll to hit is that the power does not say anything about hitting a model. What it does say is "...models that are touched by this line must take an Initiative test."
But the Space Wolves FAQ states you need line of sight to a model and that model becomes the target. Then anything else caught under that line is effected.So since the power is a shooting attack, and you need to pick a target and have line of sight to that target, then that makes me think you need to roll to hit.Q. Does Jaws of the World Wolf require line of sight?
Does it ignore terrain that blocks line of sight (i.e.,
impassable terrain)? (p37)
A. As a psychic shooting attack, Jaws of the World Wolf
requires line of sight. The Rune Priest must have line of
sight to the first model that the power affects – in effect he
is treated as the target model; the power just happens to
hit everybody else on its way through!
Yes, it hits everyone else on it's way through the first target. The first target needs to be hit because it's a psychic shooting attack. I'm just going by the rules and FAQ, and everything in there points to it needing to roll to hit.Jaws is a psychic shooting attack. It needs line of sight because it is a shooting attack, even though it never mentions line of sight in the Codex for the power.Q: Do psychic shooting attacks need to roll To Hit?
So you're saying that the line magically pops into existence after you roll to hit? The line is already there, anything under it is automatically hit. The first model is only there for designation purposes. The same would apply to Murderous Hurricane and any sort of psychic shooting attack that uses a template (eg Draigo's Sanctified Flame or a GK Librarian's Warp Rift)
"The sergeant major asked me what my job is. I told him it's to do what I am told. He gave me a medal. I like the Imperial Guard."
"Innocentia Probat Nihil"