I rallied...what now? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Senior Member Emysk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Conneticut, USA
    Posts
    279
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    37 (x1)

    I rallied...what now?

    So when my marines rally after their "tactical retreat", what can I do? Are they just rallied as normal, only able to shoot? Or can they function as if it was the start of any other turn? I play with the before mentioned, but do recall a discussion somewhere and what they can do exactly. Just wanted to clear this up for myself.

    Thanks all.

    Eternity Guard (SM) W-15/L-5/D-3
    Lizardmen w16/ L1/ d2 :On hiatus since new rules... =/

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Night's whipser The Silent One's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    England
    Age
    23
    Posts
    1,719
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    421 (x8)

    They rally as normal, only being able to move 3" and shoot/run, don't know about assault though.
    One shall stand, and one shall fall.

  4. #3
    Toy Soldier Aficionado Wolf Guard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    930
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    89 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Thescilentone2608 View Post
    They rally as normal, only being able to move 3" and shoot/run, don't know about assault though.
    Nope.

    They act as if they hadn't moved meaning they can move 6" (if it's not an assault squad or bike squad), and may act like a normal squad. And they shall know no fear states it pretty clearly.
    The Wolf time is upon us!
    Rep for the Rep God! Positive for the Positive Throne!
    Armies: Space Wolves, Imperial Guard, Emperors Children, Necrons, Eldar

  5. #4
    Night's whipser The Silent One's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    England
    Age
    23
    Posts
    1,719
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    421 (x8)

    All I know is that And they shall know no fear lets them rally and assumed there was only one type of rallying.
    One shall stand, and one shall fall.

  6. #5
    Senior Member mika's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Age
    32
    Posts
    470
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    27 (x1)

    Hi!

    Space Marines are very special in regards to rallying.

    When the rally, they move 3" for the rally move.
    Then they can make a normal 6" move.
    After that they can shoot and assault as normal.

    Regards
    mika
    "One must do violence to the object of one's desire; when it surrenders, the pleasure is greater."

    Marquis De Sade

  7. #6
    Senior Member Emysk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Conneticut, USA
    Posts
    279
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    37 (x1)

    Alrightttyyyyy. See here's my problem, I now have 3 different answers to my question. This always happens when I see this sort of post pop up. Can anyone clarify :'[
    Eternity Guard (SM) W-15/L-5/D-3
    Lizardmen w16/ L1/ d2 :On hiatus since new rules... =/

  8. #7
    Son of LO Polaria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,653
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    720 (x8)

    ATSKNF says "the unit is not subject to normal movement restrictions" in regrouping. Specifically it says "does not automatically count as having moved". Thus I am pretty sure they do not get 3"+6" move, since the "can move up to 3" and always counts as having moved" is the actual movement restriction ATSKNF is specifically NOT subject to. Thus I say:

    Normal Regroup:
    - Can move up to 3"
    - Always counts as having moved, whether really moved or not
    - Can Shoot
    - Can Run
    - Can Assault

    ATSKNF:
    - Can Move (or be Stationary) normally
    - Can Shoot
    - Can Run
    - Can Assault
    Revenant Moon Necrons: (W/L/D) 0/1/0 (6th edition: 13/2/2)(5th edition: 14/6/4)(3rd edition Codex: 16/4/7)
    XIX Legion: (W/L/D) 0/0/0 (5th edition: 14/12/2)(5th edition Codex: 4/3/0)
    Black Legion: (W/L/D) 1/0/0 (6th edition: 2/3/0)
    Something Wicked... Reikwald Beastmen: (W/L/D) 10/4/1

  9. #8
    Double Clutching Weasel Klajorne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Montucky
    Posts
    3,274
    Mentioned
    26 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    479 (x8)

    I've always gone with what Polaria said (though it has been argued in a few different gaming clubs). Sort of redundant, but marines can also chose to stay stationary and shoot heavy weapons or full range on their rapid fire guns, something other races cannot. Basically, marines get to ignore rallying rules and just start their turn as normal.

  10. #9
    jboweruk
    Guest

    This should answer this, straight from FAQ:

    Q. When a unit with the And They Shall Know No Fear
    special rule regroups do they get to immediately move
    up to 3" as well as moving as normal that turn? (p51)
    A. Yes.

  11. #10
    Senior Member Emysk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Conneticut, USA
    Posts
    279
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    37 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by jboweruk View Post
    This should answer this, straight from FAQ:

    Q. When a unit with the And They Shall Know No Fear
    special rule regroups do they get to immediately move
    up to 3" as well as moving as normal that turn? (p51)
    A. Yes.
    So if that's from the official FAQ, are you telling me that when I regroup I can move 9 inches AND shoot AND assault as normal??? 0_o
    Eternity Guard (SM) W-15/L-5/D-3
    Lizardmen w16/ L1/ d2 :On hiatus since new rules... =/

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts