Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This weeks winner is Grey Knight Terminators & Justicar Thawn!
So what role do they fulfill in your force? How do you equip them? Deepstrike or not? Can they be effective as your only troops? Transports? etc, etc....
As a change of pace, as I am yet to run with Termies, I turn the ball over to you guys to get it rolling...
Last edited by DeathPoke; September 13th, 2011 at 06:01.
I have a unit of 5 with 1 hammer, 4 halberds and a psycannon which I deep strike, GM helps them arrive early and I try and use skull probes to get them into a position I want, personally I would rather have another unit of Paladins but its hard to fit it all in sadly I think they could be effective as you only troops, I was looking at the idea of having two units of 5 as my troops and then taking two units of 10 purifiers as my elites and using the GM to make them count as scoring as needed, I think at 225pts with upgrades you can't really go wrong with these guys.
I've used the max unit of 10 and a slightly slimmed unit of 8 in every list i've made -1 psycannon (2 if 10 and the brotherhood banner ,2 hammers 7 halberds -wrecks face every time even at 8. I just casually walk em up they have never failed to reach my opponent and its the dual sword factor if he ignores them they proceed to tear his army to pieces however should he choose to focus them down it takes so much firepower that the rest of my army is near unscathed
even ignoring their considerable shooting/soaking power the sheer intimidation factor of a big terminator unit staring at you in the face makes em worth their points
If I'm running a non =][= force, I'll almost always run a squad of 5 terminators, minimum, but if I do they have to have Thrawn with them. That said, I always deep strike them. Some don't like the idea because of the risk involved, but the way I see it, it's a little risk for huge gain. They're great squads to drop next to enemy lines and soak up firepower. I'll usually be ballsy with them and DS right next to enemy infantry. If my opponent wants to shoot at them with blast weaponry, they may end up hitting their own guys, thus, usually leaving Lascannons and the like to fire on them, which I assign to Thrawn to soak up.
I want them to be a present threat from turn one. My opponent *has* to shoot them, or else they're going to assault something very tasty. If they use lascannons, those are lascannons not firing at my vehicles moving up field.
Will this always work? No, throw enough fire at them and I'll roll the 1s eventually, but Thrawn is an ever present threat. My opponent *must* stay honest. If they wipe the whole squad, Thrawn can just stand back up and assault a unit of theirs at the worst possible time.
Actually not a bad idea, lets also discuss thawn.
Haven't played GK yet as only have some of my HQ, but reading the book I really don't see the point in much else, most of what the others can carry a termie can, and still use a NFW to boot. Termie can have a Psycannon, Psilencer or incinerator and still use a force weapon, none of the power armoured units can do this. For my money that makes termies worth the points, throw in a squad of Paladins with their 2 wounds and fnp rules, stick a BB on all of them, and laugh as your opponent cowers in fear. And just for good measure give all your HQ's maximum skulls and you can pretty much stick those termies where you want. Tau? I see no Tau, oh, those dead bodies down there...
To me thawn just doesn't seem worth it. Yeh he can get back up, but he costs a lot for it. What really puts me off is that for 15 points more I can get a squad of paladins of the same size (5man squad) with one extra psycannon, and I really struggle to see how that isn't better.
If Thrawn stands up once, he's made his points back. Once. He's Ultra cost effective.
With that in mind, the enemy can't ever really erase him from the board. He is always there. They ALWAYS have to worry about dealing with him.
Last edited by cKerensky; September 14th, 2011 at 01:56.
I agree with cKerensky, if the squad gets wiped, oh well... if thawn gets back up, your opponent has to commit a vehicle/unit to deal with him, and just him... meaning the rest of your guys dont cop as much fire for a turn or 2.
I like to take the full squad of 10 with two Psycannons, 2 Hammers and split the rest between Halberds and Swords. I usually split the squad into two with both Psycannons in one group of 5 as a nice walking AT unit. The other 5 I deepstrike off to take care whatever needed, but usually in front of the Psycannon lads.
"A love for tradition has never weakened a nation, indeed it has strengthened nations in their hour of peril."
Sir Winston Churchil