Welcome to Librarium Online!
I am going to start fielding a Librarian or 2 against my Tau playing friend. I have a few questions that I couldn't resolve in the rule book or codex (I play Ultra Marines so no special rules)
1) Deepstrike rules state I can shoot but can't assault, even with fleet. Does this apply to Librarians who use GoI and quickening? Also, it says that if he's alone there is no risk. Does this mean i don't have to roll for scatter or just that there is no risk of something going wrong?
2) Can Tigurius use different powers every turn? The codex says he knows all the powers and can use 3 per turn instead of 2, but it doesn't say much else beyond that. I assume that a normal Librarian has to pick 2 before the game begins but it seems to me that Tigurius isn't limited to picking 3 for the whole game.
3) (non librarian questions) Cassius seems like a VERY useful, and cheap, character to use against Tau suits. He wounds anything on 2+, 3+ save and 4+ invulnerable save and has a toughness of 6 and he has feel no pain. Does his feel no pain apply to a unit I attach him to?
1) You answered your own question here - the Deep Strike rules (which you're using with GoI) say that you can shoot but not assault, even with Fleet (which is gained from Quickening). In short, no, there is no way that you can GoI and then charge someone, although it would be awesome wouldn't it? If he's alone, you still have to roll Scatter, you just don't have to roll on the mishap table.
2) Tigurius can cast any combination of 3 powers each turn. He knows all 6, but can only cast 3 of them at a time. They don't want you slamming out all 6 powers in one turn. He's good, but he's not a god or anything.
3) No. FNP only applies to the model with that rule. If it carries out to the unit, it will be noted in the rules, like Painboys for Orks. So no again, Cassius's FNP only works for Cassius, and not his unit. Cassius is a beast, no doubt, but the trouble is that SM HQs are already a bit pricey (so you probably only want 1 "big guy") and although Cassius is a pretty devastating model, there are other characters who will provide an army-wide boost, and therefore might make a better choice. Try him out, see what you think.
There you go, hope this helps you out.
Praise be to the Emperor!!
Ok, that's kind of what I thought. Can I use MotA and still use my force weapon in the same turn?
A force weapon activation,is a use of psichic power.Thereby you cant use another in the same turn(unless the model has a rule that can use more than one).
It can still be used as a power weapon though.
Praise be to the Emperor!!
Last edited by gilli247; September 17th, 2011 at 18:10.
If you read his question he asks if he can use Might of the Ancients and his force weapon. The answer is yes, and one further power. If he just wanted to use a force weapon then yeah two further psychic powers.