Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So I finnaly played something different than tau, and went up against Space Marines yesterday, and it was a utter failure on part. So much so that after first turn I had to concede since I had NO punch left to continue. Now that the dust has settled I wanted to know what you guys thought...My mistakes, or tips to improve myself from this situation again.
So lets start by explaining what I was fighting and the mission. 1500pt game btw
Space Marines with Shrike Chapter Master for Fleet moving Infiltrated Assault Termies (10) and the rest of his force is Scouts, 2 are sniper style, one is a assault team of ten to walk in, and another suicide squad in a Land Speeder Storm. Also a Suicide Dreadnaught Melta/Hvyflamer in drop pod, and a Assault Marine squad of 10.
Most of his points went to the Termie Squad obviously here.
I did Jacobus with 7 DCAs 2 Crusaders in a rhino, 2 squads of Melta Doms, 3 squads of Melta BSS, and 3 Exorcists.
So we rolled for deployment/mission and got Long Board/2 Objectives, He won the iniative.
This is how we set up
I didnt want to outflank my Dominions since they had little to sneak up on since all the infiltrating scouts were already infront of me and no tanks to go tank hunting either
Failed to steal initative
So he drove his landspeeder with scout movement to my front lines then his turn came.
Dreadnaught landed and popped a exorcist, Landspeeder drove up and 5 marines came up and assaulted the exorcist as well as having enough reach to touch uriah's tank with 2 of the 3 scouts. They popped both, Last exorcist took missle shots and a melta shot from the landspeeder and blew up, failed rolls +6 since its rare to rely on that.
Terminators assaulted out from cover and touched both tanks and popped them.
His turn finished. (3 exorcists destroyed, 3 rhinos popped)
My turn comes out, I killed the landspeeder and the 5 man marine crew, scratched at the 10 man scout team coming from the right. Blew up the dreadnaugt
Then Uriah assaulted the Assault Termies, he killed 3 assault termies and wounded Shrike...amazing rolls on his part with most of my swingins connecting. He swung back got 5 wounds, I rolled for leadership and failed as they ran away with Uriah dead as well.
I threw the towel with the Assault Termies still alive with only 2 troop choices at full str and one Dominion still kicking at full str too.
What happened here?!
Last edited by Kaine0986; January 11th, 2012 at 16:25.
In this case however I think you just chose the wrong form of deployment. You'd have been better off deploying in the corner and using rhinos to screen the exorcists, perhaps even dismount a squad of sisters to scatter between the rhino line and exorcists to expand it while still preventing deepstriking - you'd lose transports but he's lose his terminators, scouts, and dread ... actually he'd probably have to change plans - can't trade his best pieces for pawns.
Edit - also sounds like you mis-deployed the death cultists if someone managed to swing at Uriah, he shouldn't make contact on the initial charge if at all possible.
Last edited by A.T.; January 11th, 2012 at 17:15.
It was the first time using Uriah, so yes I used him wrong by leading the herd. That is a mistake that wont occur again.
Also i forgot to note, the Objectives were the top right terrain and the bottom middle terrain.
Thinking about it now, Castling my self in a corner would have been the best maneuver. I never fought a army like that before I am used to spreading my resources out for options.
They can be used this way to prevent infiltrators from getting too close, and then will scout back into position to pop smoke and deny any easy charges from any infiltrators that have now been placed. They work best around the middle of the line (forcing drop pods to fire and smoked/obscured rhinos or risk the edge) and can be used to prevent infiltration into/behind sight blocking scenery.
ok im not familiar with marine rules so maybe they are allowed this but the drop pod should not have come in first turn as you dont start rolling for reserves until beginning of 2nd turn.
Suffer not the heretic. That's right, I'm looking at you Astartes Librarians.
(benefited me today, my opponent was so geared against the deepstrike/alpha strike that he had no counter to a slow, methodical disassembling of his force)
What really happened their is that the marine guy cheated on you with his terminators, he cant 1st turn assault you as he must deploy more than 18" away from you. Its in the rulebook under infiltrate.
Let the galaxy burn