Psyker Batte Squad - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Psyker Batte Squad

    Have decided to attach a Psyker Battle Squad to my Catahan Army.

    Within my Army I have 2 Valkyries, I have read that putting the Psykers in a Chimera is a good option, but what about putting them in a Valkyrie.

    Is this abad idea as the VAlkyrie has no FIRE POINTS.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member me_meza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Copenhagen - Denmark
    Age
    27
    Posts
    274
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    Well, that depends on what you want it to do. Of course, for getting them quickly from A to B it's superb, but the psykers wont be doing much psyking from inside the Valkyrie, as it has no fire points, like you said.

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Chimera

    So if I put them in a Chimera, I would be better off.

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    94
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    15 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by wako1302 View Post
    So if I put them in a Chimera, I would be better off.
    Yes because they can fire from the hatch.
    "Coming in Vendettas / Valkyries, airborne troops, The Emperor gave us wings", unknown 181st Elysian Drop Regiment.
    The Lexian System, the Imperial expansion continues.

  6. #5
    LO Zealot Korona's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,154
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    340 (x6)

    Yeah MUCH better off! Keep in mind that weaken resolve isn't a shooting attack and so you can move 12 inches and still use it so the Chimera is a very mobile option for them.
    Copy, Improve, Innovate

  7. #6
    Shrug, k... Certs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,350
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    169 (x4)

    In my infantry army, I tend to keep them in the very back of the lines generally completely out of sight except for 1 psyker to use as a 'spotter' to keep them as small a target as possible, generally works like gangbusters on shoo'ing enemy units away from ranging melee with my infantry platoons, 2 squads with a range of 36" each makes for very easy field coverage with proper placement of the 'spotters'. With the enemy usually too busy with all the visible and closer platoons (especially all the officers in the command squads) that the psykers don't come under attack very often either.

    Also, in regards to the recent FAQ update on the rulebook...

    Q: Can models embarked upon a vehicle use its fire
    points to draw line of sight to a unit to use special
    rules or wargear (other than shooting)? (p66)
    A: No.

    If I'm reading that right and as Weaken Resolve isn't a type of shooting attack, I don't think it can be used while embarked upon a chimera.

    ...A blog that's mostly about Infinity, but sometimes other stuff too.

  8. #7
    Member warhammer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Poland, Śląsk
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Psykers
    Q: Can a model use a psychic power that is not a
    Psychic Shooting Attack if it is embarked in a transport
    vehicle? (p50)
    A: Yes. If the power requires line of sight, this is still
    worked out from the vehicle’s fire points (this will
    count as one model shooting through that fire point if
    the power is used in the Shooting phase).
    If the psychic power does not require line of sight and
    has a range or an area of effect that is normally
    measured from the model using it, these are measured
    from the vehicle’s hull, as explained in the Embarking
    section on page 66.
    So you can use a PBS in Chimera without any problems.

  9. #8
    Shrug, k... Certs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,350
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    169 (x4)

    ah good catch, I don't use vehicles often and I saw the entry I posted in pink on that FAQ which raised my brow for double-checking.

    ...A blog that's mostly about Infinity, but sometimes other stuff too.

  10. #9
    Son of LO kevin vanrooyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,884
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    452 (x8)

    You may want to check the writing on weaken resolve, i'm certain that it's a psychic shooting attack (although one that doesnt need t roll to hit or cause wounds).

    I'd quote my codex but it's in my case in the truck.

    Can someone check that though?
    IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
    Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11

  11. #10
    Member warhammer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Poland, Śląsk
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    No, it isn't a psychic shooting attack, it is a psychic power that is used in shooting phase.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts