Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
When I take doctrine like Hardened Fighters, Sharpshooters, and Light Infantry, do they have to be applied to every infantry unit that can take them?
The wording in the Codex is unclear, stating only which units "can" take these Skills, but nowhere directly demaning, as it does with Equipment, that all models who can take them do.
Which is it? If I have to take all my doctrines in all my squads, I'll be very sad indeed, since it makes the Guard even LESS fun to play in small points games, and even less adaptable.
It says you can, so you can but you don't have too. If you had to it would say so, as it does with special equipment.
Correct, it should probably use the word "may", but it dosnt.
I am the Aquila-Guerilla!
From my understanding, that was made for us Imperial Guard players that want to have specific special traits that apply to our Imperial Guard Army. Tannith 1st as an example is not a small fighting force, but an army in itself.
I recommend for smaller battles that you ignore this ruling and just go on and enjoy your game.
These abilities normally apply and help players such as myself who use special tactics for my individual army (no less then 2000 pt armies, for me). Also adds a bit of fluff within the game for people like me, who rather suffer restrictions and difficulties for the bonuses that make our Army what we want to be overall and in fluff as well.