Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Is this loophole legal?
The codex entry states that a justicar has access to the armoury...
It also states power armoured GKs can only take wargear items....
Does that mean I can buy my purgation Justicar a suit of Terminator Armour and therefore a psycannon?
You do realise that's a 100pt model in a heavy weapons squad, yes?
...But, no you can't. There's a little '1' next to Terminator armor in the armoury. '1' means Inquisitors and Inq Lords only. Sorry.
Of course, that raises the point that Artificer armor does NOT have any '1' or anything else next to it, AND is cheaper than terminator armor, AND can still use a psycannon. Can you do it? I'd bet on no. Do I know why? Not at the moment ^_^ Even if you could use it, it's still a 95pt model, so I wouldn't want to.
I agree that 95 pts is a lot for a model just to carry a psycannon, but then 50 pts is a lot for a guy with a sword standing nearby doing sod all <_<
I spoke to the manager in local GW today about this, not only did he think it was legal... he plays DH and has that exact set up!!
I guess that means it would be ok under `house rules` then legal or not
Hey, if they let you and you want to invest that many points, go for it.
I feel that it breaks the spirit of the rules, if not the rules themselves. GW is trying to keep that Justicar psycannon-less, or thats how it seems from all their rulings. This is more likely a loophole than an intended use, but hey, it works.
For roughly the same point value, you could attatch an inquisitor with a psycannon to the unit, and still keep the NFW and SB on the justicar.
But remember, he keeps the NFW power sword. He just loses the benifit of true grit.
I say it would look cool, but there are more effective ways of pulling it off.
Where's your Baritone Saxophone?
well if it says anywhere in the codex (i will check when i get home) that pagk can only take wargear, than no - he cant have a psycannon.
The rules don't cover every contingency. You have to use common sense sometimes. Don't use loopholes, play the game the way the designers intended.
There's an angel on my shoulder, in my hand a sword of gold.
If the rules were designed to not allow justicars to take such upgrades, why don`t the rules state that rather than "grey knights in power armour"?Originally posted by lepermessiah@Dec 14 2004, 04:15
The rules don't cover every contingency. You have to use common sense sometimes. Don't use loopholes, play the game the way the designers intended.[snapback]274847[/snapback]
I don`t think I`ll bother with the purgation squad anyway, 250 points for 4 psycannons and a justicar standing around trying to look like he is doing something is pointless in my view, I don`t really want to go pushing the rules any way because it is against the spirit of the game.
Anyway.... paying those points for a S6 powerweapon wielding Justi and not using it will bring tears to my eyes
I hear ya. 50pts for a power weapon that nevers gets used is painful. That's why my psycannons are in troop squads and not heavies. It's just too much wasted points.
I personally think GKs should'nt be sitting back looking for targets. Let an Inq with psycannon and 3 warriors be your fire base. I've had pretty good luck and it's cheaper. They do get dropped easily, but at least no cc abilities are wasted.