Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was seriously thinking about converting up some GK termies with TH.... cause thats the only unit in the army that would make quick work of my friends wraithlord...... any one tried this before? if so..... did it work good for you? Thanx...
I keep one GKT with hammer/SS combo in my HQ's bodyguard in case of big baddies. A lot of people say you don't need them, since you have the S6 power weapons, but I think they're useful (in moderation). Don't go making an entire unit of them, but maybe 1 out of every 4 or 5 GKT seems like a good ratio. That usually means one TH/SS per unit, since they're kept small, which works out well.
I've actually tried out an anti-armor/anti-MC squad with an Elite BC (chainfist, NFW) and 4 GKT, all with TH/SS. Only used the unit once, but I deepstruck them behind enemy's artillery line (it was an IG army, so I figured the extra ant-armor would rock). They took out something like 5 tanks over the course of the game, better than my Dreads ever perform. But again, thats uber-specialised, as any tooled up CC unit that strikes at I2+ would tear them apart.
If just for the looks, yes.
The TH is one of those things I haven't found to be great yet, but then again I haven't faced any CHars.
It was nice when I stunned a Greater Daemon with it.
I wish I had a dgital camera, then I would post a pick, but I don't.
Where's your Baritone Saxophone?
The SS can reduce your need for an icon of the just on your grand master or brother captain, espescially against things like the bloodthirster.
Well, that would imply giving the Hero a Hammer/Shield, which is NOT free. Sad, but true. You'd have to pay for both items out of the armoury.
On Inquisitors I like them because they give you something that needs less than a 5 to wound things. On Grey Knights no way, I'm not going to give away my great Initiative for a TH when the NFW already gives you a great strength anyway. If you need to take out huge baddies just make sure to have the GK GM in your army and then he only needs to inflict one wound ^_^
Karnov let all of us fulfil our repressed dreams of being a fat Russian man running around in the great outdoors and getting shot at by weird stone heads and crap. You didn't have a repressed fantasy about doing such marvelous things? Well, I don't believe you . . . [djpretzel]
If you have a terminator with th/ss in your Gms retinue, you can use your 4+ invulnerable save against some big nasty thing instead of your gms 5+.
Not unless the 4+ invuln save was the majority in the unit, sadly. You can't just use the single best save if only one model has it.
Cant you take the attack specifically on the one unit with the SS, and if it fails, you have to assign the wound to that model? my friends might just be making up rules again.
Grabndmaster fights in cc separately than the rest as he is an IC so you couldnt take SS saves with him just as mEGALOMANIAC has stated. I like giving my GM a Daemon hammer and Nemesis. I like the versatility and the extra attack.Originally posted by LainGirdwood@Jan 3 2005, 21:20
Cant you take the attack specifically on the one unit with the SS, and if it fails, you have to assign the wound to that model? my friends might just be making up rules again.[snapback]292650[/snapback]