Puzzled - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Puzzled

  1. #1
    Senior Member chickenpowder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    3rd planet from Sol, presumably
    Age
    26
    Posts
    400
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

    Erm just wanted to clear one thing. I'm a bit confused about the Rending rules of AC, so I'd thought I ask u for some help...

    Let's say I'm shooting a Wraithlord with an AC.
    So let's say I roll 3 hits, 2 of which are 6's.
    Now according to the Rending rules, I've just scored 2 wounds! Right, but then, in the actual "to wound" phase, do I roll 1 (3-1) or 3 D6? If I get three dice, then there's a 50/50 chance of knocking down that monster. If not...


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot Kirasu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,521
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    47 (x4)

    You cant wound more than the amount of shots you fired heh

    If you roll a 6 you AUTO wound which means you automatically pass your to wound roll.. If you hit with 4, and 2 were rending you roll 2 more dice to see if the other wound

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    350
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Originally posted by Ezekiel1990@Dec 30 2004, 02:48
    Personally, I would take a sergeant w/ 4x missile launchers, and it's only 155 pts.
    [snapback]288533[/snapback]
    also works like that for glancing vehicles...so if you roll to hit and score 2 6's that means you've glanced 2 times.
    P.S. Blood angels rule, the anger lets us ignore wounds ...hehehe

  5. #4
    Supreme Evil Overlord Dreachon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Age
    34
    Posts
    4,873
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    189 (x8)

    also works like that for glancing vehicles...so if you roll to hit and score 2 6's that means you've glanced 2 times.
    NO, you only get it on the Penetration roll, not the to hit roll

    so to make it clear.

    Infantry to hit, vehicle to penetrate

  6. #5
    Member Lynx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    In Melbourne.
    Age
    28
    Posts
    238
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    ok.

    4 dice from an assault cannon shooting at eldar gaurdians

    *roll to hit*

    results:

    5
    6
    6
    2

    with the above roll, 3 hits were scored. two of those are 6's which means its an auto-wound. The 1 dice that scored a 5, needs to be rolled to see if it wounds.

    4 dice from an assault cannon at a rhino

    *roll to hit*

    3
    4
    3
    5

    All hit

    *roll to penetrate*

    6
    6
    3
    1

    With the penetration roll, you have scored 2 sixes, meaing you get 2 glancing hits. re-roll these 2 dice and compare results to vehicle damage chart in a) your head or b) the "bible"

    I hope that made it clear for everyone...

    Lynx
    WOOT 200th post. YAY
    A wise man once said: Blow me @$$wipe :lol:

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    350
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Originally posted by Dreachon@Jan 2 2005, 05:39
    NO, you only get it on the Penetration roll, not the to hit roll

    so to make it clear.

    Infantry to hit, vehicle to penetrate
    [snapback]290775[/snapback]

    i am fairly sure that you can blow up any vehicle with the Assault cannon. its like gauss weponry now...thats what i have been told by GW staff...so you can go up to a monolith and then blow it up if your gonna get enough 6's. tats wat i have been told.
    P.S. Blood angels rule, the anger lets us ignore wounds ...hehehe

  8. #7
    LO Zealot th0r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,078
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x3)

    Well considering the toughest armor is 14, and a roll of a 6 means your at base 12 with an extra d6, yeah its gonna hurt most things. But I think the actuall amount of times you geta 6 against a vehicle is very rare. Infact when it seems to count I almost never get it as opposed to guass weaponary where its a given that any necron squad can take down a vehicle because it auto glances. Also you wouldn't get the extra d6 against the monolith.
    Current Armies-
    Slaanesh (CSM)
    Daemonhunters
    Empire
    High Elves (BloodBowl)

    Warseer Blood Bowl League

  9. #8
    Senior Member GuardinGnome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Sunny CA
    Age
    33
    Posts
    658
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x2)

    Ah, so living armor does nullify rending as well.
    I am the Aquila-Guerilla!

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    350
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Originally posted by 311+Jan 2 2005, 20:14--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(311 &#064; Jan 2 2005, 20:14)</div><div class='quotemain'>Well considering the toughest armor is 14, and a roll of a 6 means your at base 12 with an extra d6, yeah its gonna hurt most things. But I think the actuall amount of times you geta 6 against a vehicle is very rare. Infact when it seems to count I almost never get it as opposed to guass weaponary where its a given that any necron squad can take down a vehicle because it auto glances. Also you wouldn&#39;t get the extra d6 against the monolith.
    [snapback]291183[/snapback]
    [/b]



    no what i am saying is the assault cannon is like the gauss weaponry. ie it can auto glance anything on a roll of 6.

    <!--QuoteBegin-GuardinGnome
    @Jan 2 2005, 236
    Ah, so living armor does nullify rending as well.
    [snapback]291227[/snapback]
    [/quote]

    can it?
    P.S. Blood angels rule, the anger lets us ignore wounds ...hehehe

  11. #10
    Supreme Evil Overlord Dreachon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Age
    34
    Posts
    4,873
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    189 (x8)

    Yes, the living metal does ignore the rending ability

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts