True Grit - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34

Thread: True Grit

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    i was told yesterday that i could not use true grit with my terminators and only units in power armour could use it. yes this is what it says in the codex: daemonhunters, grey knight special rules. so we left it at that and i didnt use it, since then ive reveiwed the FAQ and it says that the following universal special rules that appear in codex: deamonhunters, shall be referred to from the universal special rules in the revised 4th edition rule book...
    basically it says there all grey knights can use the true grit ability with storm bolters!

    the question here is, Am i right, or somehow misled?? if so please tell me

    thankyou to all who answer in regards to my question

    "Et Imperator Invocato Diabolus Daemonica Exorcism"

    Add Me on MSN.... SycotickPyro@hotmail.com

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO mEGALOMANIAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cranston, RI
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,532
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x8)

    I'd point you to THIS thread, but it isn't exactly clear because a lot of rather uninformed people decided to throw their opinions into the fray.

    Simply put, no. Grey Knight Terminators do NOT recieve True Grit. GW has been consulted many times on the matter, and they've said that the True Grit entry in the Universal Special Rules section was bad wording on their part. It was a redo of what the rule meant, not who got the rule. And since GK Terminators have NEVER gotten the True Grit rule, they do not get it now.\

    BTW, I'm only bolding the answer so that people don't try and start a debate again. It's a simple issue that GW has stated many times. I wasn't being a ***** to you ^_^

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Originally posted by mEGALOMANIAC@Jan 3 2005, 18:38
    I'd point you to THIS thread, but it isn't exactly clear because a lot of rather uninformed people decided to throw their opinions into the fray.

    Simply put, no. Grey Knight Terminators do NOT recieve True Grit. GW has been consulted many times on the matter, and they've said that the True Grit entry in the Universal Special Rules section was bad wording on their part. It was a redo of what the rule meant, not who got the rule. And since GK Terminators have NEVER gotten the True Grit rule, they do not get it now.\

    BTW, I'm only bolding the answer so that people don't try and start a debate again. It's a simple issue that GW has stated many times. I wasn't being a ***** to you ^_^
    [snapback]291927[/snapback]
    nah shes cool mate i understand what ya meant by it, thanks anyway

    thats how i will play with it from now on, but its pretty useless, surely if i was a grey knight in power armour and i got promoted to terminator armour i would still specialise in true grit with storm bolters (plus the fact theyre wrist mounted so i hardly see why theyre 2 handed).. it doesnt make alot of sense the way GW has set that up but i spose it would be unfair with 4 attacks on charging when no armour save can be taken against the power weapons

    all that said it was entirely hypothetical or whatever word best describes it and i KNOW that its 3 attacks on charge and 2 otherwise so nobody correct me
    "Et Imperator Invocato Diabolus Daemonica Exorcism"

    Add Me on MSN.... SycotickPyro@hotmail.com

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    Originally posted by Grand Master Octavius@Jan 3 2005, 02:53
    nah shes cool mate i understand what ya meant by it, thanks anyway

    thats how i will play with it from now on, but its pretty useless, surely if i was a grey knight in power armour and i got promoted to terminator armour i would still specialise in true grit with storm bolters (plus the fact theyre wrist mounted so i hardly see why theyre 2 handed).. it doesnt make alot of sense the way GW has set that up but i spose it would be unfair with 4 attacks on charging when no armour save can be taken against the power weapons

    all that said it was entirely hypothetical or whatever word best describes it and i KNOW that its 3 attacks on charge and 2 otherwise so nobody correct me
    [snapback]291936[/snapback]

    **

    I think it represents the fact that Terminator armor is a little more bulky and unwieldy. True Grit with a Storm Bolter requires some dexterity, I guess. The terminator clad models do not "forget" the True Grit ability. They just cannot use it because of the armor. If you take a GM or BC, you can technically purchase him articifer/power armor and then he can use the True Grit ability. Of course, articifer+refractor field = 30 points for getting the same save, losing DS ability, but gaining +1A, so it's not necessarily a good trade-off, but it is technically doable.

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    va
    Age
    30
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    but could you give your lord true grit while he has a storm bolter and and power sword? dont have my book on me so just thought id ask :confused:

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Texas, not to be confused with America.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    565
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    0 (x0)

    The Universal rules thing that everyone keeps talking about makes no specific mention. It is not bad wording, just a non-specific generalization. It is just sad that people see what they want and not what is written.

    To you Name, if you give him Power Armor as wargear, yes you can. You could give him a powersword to go with the NFW and get the +1 attack, but you waste the high BS.

    Oh, Dvang, your interpretation on Artificer Armor is sadly mistaken. Only GK in POWER ARMOR get the extra attatck. That is the literal interpretation.
    Where's your Baritone Saxophone?

  8. #7
    Member lepermessiah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    189
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    To clear up another issue, even with true grit they wouldn't get four attacks on the charge. Remember that a model with true grit doesn't get an extra attack for charging.
    There's an angel on my shoulder, in my hand a sword of gold.

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Livermore CA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    232
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    Also, if you took your GM out of terminator armour he would lose the +1 attack he gets from the termie armour. Sure, it's already included in his profile, but if you took him out of TA, he would still lose that attack.

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    53
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    No, he'd keep the attack. Read the FAQ on GWs site.

  11. #10
    LO Zealot Corianis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Regional South Australia
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,066
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    112 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by Grand Master Overcannon
    The Universal rules thing that everyone keeps talking about makes no specific mention. It is not bad wording, just a non-specific generalization. It is just sad that people see what they want and not what is written.

    To you Name, if you give him Power Armor as wargear, yes you can. You could give him a powersword to go with the NFW and get the +1 attack, but you waste the high BS.

    Oh, Dvang, your interpretation on Artificer Armor is sadly mistaken. Only GK in POWER ARMOR get the extra attatck. That is the literal interpretation.
    I was under the impression that Artificer Armour was itself a type of Power Armour (SM Codex p23 "...even more ancient and ornate than a normal suit of Space Marine Power Armour..."), with the only difference being the save.
    ___
    Greetings from Planet X, I hope you enjoy your day.
    Join us in the Librarium Online Chatroom

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts