Direction - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Direction

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    If the hole in the temlate is within the vehicle-body - Wich armour side should one use when determine armourvalue?

    ... what is the direction of the spaceship...?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO mEGALOMANIAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cranston, RI
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,532
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x8)

    The BGB is a little unclear about that, since it assumes all barrage weapons have a shooter (to be fair, I think they all DO, other than Orbital Strike&#33. I'd say you use the diagram on page 65 of the BGB (the one with the dotted lines) to determine what armor is hit.

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Good suggestion, Ill try that one

    btw: The new Castellan mines (from Whirlwind) is another example of "non-shooter", but in that case GW has been kind enough to clarify the problem...

  5. #4
    Son of LO mEGALOMANIAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cranston, RI
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,532
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x8)

    Hmm. That's a good point. Castellan mines always hit the rear armor, regardless of which direction they come from. Maybe that's because top armor on vehicles is always equal to the weakest side? I'd probably keep using the chart on page 65, but in the meantime, you should ask GW if we get the same rules as the Castellan, because that would be VERY helpful for us Daemonhunters...

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    I don't have the BBB with me to check right now... but honestly, I think it's whichever side of the vehicle the hole is.

    If it's miraculously dead center and you can't determine a side the hole is closer to, I'd say roll for it. 1-3 defender, 4-6 attacker choose which side is hit.

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Texas, not to be confused with America.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    565
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    0 (x0)

    Quoth Codex Cityfight, © GW2001

    Units with height advantage may attack vehicles on their top armour (treat as rear, and re roll a failed attempt to penatrate against an open topped vehicle. As usual, a die can only be re-rolled once.) This does dosnt apply if the target is a dreadought or a walker, and does ot apply to vehicles more than 18" from the attackers.
    Now my interpretation:

    I belive a ship in orbit has a height advantage. The 18" away rule is not so much refering to accuracy as it is referencing the angele that the shot has to be fired at the tank. Since the distance is measured horizontaly rather than verticaly or by an angle (for this purpose), the ship is directly overhead, and the rule applys unless the vehicle is a walker, then I would say front AV.
    Where's your Baritone Saxophone?

  8. #7
    Son of LO mEGALOMANIAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cranston, RI
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,532
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x8)

    then I would say front AV.
    Don't you mean REAR AV? Thats what the rules you quoted said. Thats also what I said above when Fonus mentioned the Castellan mines, which work the same way. But we still should check with GW before assuming thats how it's done.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Texas, not to be confused with America.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    565
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    0 (x0)

    No, The rules state that if it is a walker, use you don't use that rule, but it dosn't say what you would use. I assume it uses front av for walkers only.

    In the case of the Demolisher and Vindicator:

    When a vindicator or Demolisher is being fired at from above, hits are resolved against side armor value instead of rear AV.
    Otherwise use rear AV if the center lands on the top.
    Where's your Baritone Saxophone?

  10. #9
    Son of LO mEGALOMANIAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cranston, RI
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,532
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x8)

    My bad, didn't realize you were saying front armor for WALKERS, thought you meant for everything ^_^

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Texas, not to be confused with America.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    565
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    0 (x0)

    No problem, but I would appreciate help from GW on this. If you would contact them, you probably should cite precidence from the Codex Cityfight.
    Where's your Baritone Saxophone?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts