Indirect Basilisks - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    24
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    If a Basilisk Is fired Indirectly how do you determine cover saves???
    As the Basilisk shell comes from above how do you determine who does and who doesn't?
    Also on a similar point If shooting at a vehicle If you place the template over the rear armour and It hits do you take the front AV or the rear AV according to the rule book you take It from whichever direction the shell was fired but as I have mentioned does the shell not come from directly above hence the name 'Indirect'?
    Thanks In Advance

    FLASHLIGHT


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Dancing Peanuts? You bet! Robizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Plymouth
    Posts
    1,350
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    106 (x4)

    If they are IN a piece of scenery then they get the normal cover save with a -1 modifier. If they are out in the open, then dont get any save, no matter where they are. (except for wargear things like kustom force field)

    Hope that helps.

  4. #3
    Son of LO Uzi-99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Age
    37
    Posts
    3,181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    86 (x7)

    Cover against Barrage (and Ord Barrage) weapons is determined from the center hole of the marker.

    If the Cover in question is set cover, like sandbags, a wall, etc. and there is nothing between the hole and the models, You don't get a Cover save. Essentially, the shot is on the same side of the Cover as Your models are.

    If it's area cover (like woods) or a special rule which grants Cover save, You get the Cover save nevermind where the hole is because there is no set cover for the marker to circumvent.

    4thEd rules, page 31, right column, "Barrage Weapons - Firing Barrages", fifth paragraph, line five: "... the centre of the marker..."


    For dealing with vehicles, note 4thEd page 65, right column, bulleted paragraph below the picture: "In the case of a barrage weapon..."
    "The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."

  5. #4
    Lasgun Cell Cook BoxANT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Bloomington, MN
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,096
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    118 (x6)

    Originally posted by Robizzle@Jan 27 2005, 13:33
    If they are IN a piece of scenery then they get the normal cover save with a -1 modifier.
    [snapback]313880[/snapback]
    not in 4ed.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    24
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Thanks for the replies much needed

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria B.C. Canada
    Age
    30
    Posts
    169
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    I'm pretty sure that for firing on vehicles indirectly, you get to choose where you hit, because like you said, it is coming from above.
    We rode on the winds of the rising storm,
    We ran to the sound of the thunder.
    We danced among the lightning bolts
    And tore the world asunder.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts