Force Weapons - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Force Weapons

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    do grey knights with flamers or the psycannon still count as using force weapons in cc


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member mojo jojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Land of the Rising Shamrock
    Posts
    492
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    will yes , so i believe , but you do reallise that they dont count as force weapons to GK marines , they only add the 2 strength multiplier . they only count as REAL force weapons if it is a brother captain or grand master that holds on .
    AE-86 Twin cam corolla . a beaut !

    <a href='http://www.freewebs.com/imperator-judicium' target='_blank'>Please visit my website . Imperator -=][=- Judicium .</a>

    <a href='http://kevan.org/brain.cgi?Mojo.jojo' target='_blank'>LOL &#33; this is one of the funiest videos ive ever seen &#33;</a>

    join the librarium-online dawn of war clan <a href='http://www.freewebs.com/librarium/' target='_blank'>HERE</a>

    <a href='http://data.forumhoster.com/forum_slayer/index.php?showforum=1' target='_blank'>Check when the next clan game is on here</a>

  4. #3
    Member Supreme Grand Master Sky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    No. Look at the models.

    Grey Knights in power armour with the storm bolter and NFW have the NFW upgrade (+2 S). The ones carrying incinerator and psycannon don&#39;t get the upgrade because they cant carry both the Incin or Phyc and a NFW.

    Only termins can.

    Look at the models
    Purge the daemon where ever it may be&#33;

  5. #4
    Son of LO mEGALOMANIAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cranston, RI
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,532
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x8)

    GM Sky is correct here - GK in Power Armor do NOT retain the Nemesis Force Weapons when upgraded with either Incinerators or Psycannons. GK in Terminator armor, on the other hand, keep their Nemesis Force Weapons - the Incinerator or Psycannon merely replaces their Stormbolter.

    And also like others said, it isn&#39;t a Force weapon at all - only when a Grand Master wields it does it count as a Force weapon. For regular Grey Knights, it confers ONLY a +2S bonus. For Justicars and GK Terminators, it gives +2S AND counts as a power weapon. For GK Grand Masters ONLY, it gives +2S and counts as both a power and Force weapon.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    294
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    i have a what if here.

    force weapon vs. null rod

    id say the force weapon is a psychic power and as such is ineffectual against any character with a null rod.

    agree, disagree?

  7. #6
    Member masakari_commander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    South Gloucestershire, England
    Age
    27
    Posts
    131
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    The force weapon can still wound, and would still count as a power weapon, it would just lose it&#39;s ability to make the psychic test for instant death, I guess...
    The Imperial Guard is like a punchbag - No matter how hard you hit it, it'll always be ready for a fight.

    Vcitory for the Imperial Guard comes about through the sacrifice of our men, not through the cowardly survival tricks of other armies.

  8. #7
    Son of LO mEGALOMANIAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cranston, RI
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,532
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x8)

    masakari_commander, you&#39;re correct. Against models immune to psyker powers for whatever reason, such as the Collar of Khorne or Null Rods, a Force weapon only counts as a power weapon. Of course, for a GK Grand Master it still gives the +2S bonus, but I was answering for Force weapons in general. Same as if a model makes their save with Ungents of Warding or a Psychic Hood.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    294
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    cool, thats what i thought (i was in fact, refering to force weapons, not nfw&#39;s)

  10. #9
    Bugs'r us! Blood_Lord's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,242
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    43 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Supreme Grand Master Sky
    No. Look at the models.

    Grey Knights in power armour with the storm bolter and NFW have the NFW upgrade (+2 S). The ones carrying incinerator and psycannon don&#39;t get the upgrade because they cant carry both the Incin or Phyc and a NFW.

    Only termins can.

    Look at the models
    Well, it is kinda weird since the FAQ state's that the nemesis is a one handed weapon and the psycannons are 2 handed, which would mean they should be able to carry both of them, since the books says that it's possible to wear a two-hand and an one-handed weapon. Could somebody explain?

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    DH codex, page 29, under Grey Knights Troops

    "Options: Up to two models may exchange their weapons for a ..."

    DH codex, page 25, under Grey Knights Terminators

    "Options: Up to one model may replace their storm bolter with an ..."


    Pretty clear. GK in power armor exchange both their weapons, GKT replace just the stormbolter.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts