Termie Armour Mistake Or True? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    box
    box is offline
    Senior Member box's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Age
    26
    Posts
    493
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    11 (x1)

    ok. why aren't independent models equipped with terminator armour allowed to deepstrike if the mission doesn't permit when normal termies are.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Boiiing! Knape97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    88 (x3)

    Originally posted by box@Mar 12 2005, 070
    ok. why aren't independent models equipped with terminator armour allowed to deepstrike if the mission doesn't permit when normal termies are.
    [snapback]350416[/snapback]
    Terminator squads could always remain on the battlebarge ready to deep strike whenever the hell they wanted.

    Commanders and leaders would have to come down to the ground to coordinate the other troops, hence cannot always stay on the battle barge, hence cannot always deep strike.

    Well, thats the fluff reasoning, as for the rules reasoning... because GW says so.

  4. #3
    Senior Member Shas'el O'fen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Behind you, with a knife in your back.
    Posts
    433
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    That brings up an interesting question. What if there were two HQ choices, let's say a Master if Sanctity and a Codecier, in two seperate squads. The Codecier starts on the field and has power armor, and the Master of Sanctity has Terminator armor. Since the Codecier is already on the table, would the Master of Sanctity be allowed to deep strike with a squad of Terminators? There's already a commander unit on the table to coordinate the other troops, and it's perfectly reasonable that a better commander would accompany his best men into battle should the situation start to go sour. And with a better mind than the ordinary human, the Codecier could easily take care of coordination and deployment by himself.
    You must never forget the essence of your spark
    All of that which defines you is the essence of your blood
    The infection has been removed
    The soul of the machine has improved
    The infection has been removed
    The soul of the machine has improved

    Look into my eyes
    Tell me what you see
    Someone real?
    This is real!
    What you wish to be

  5. #4
    Senior Member Cypher-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Winston-Salem, N.C.
    Age
    31
    Posts
    431
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    Er. Are you asking if an IC can deep strike solo?

    An IC in Terminstor armor can only Deep Strike with a Terminator Command Squad. No assault squads. Nothing bought as a seperate FOC choice. At least, i'm pretty sure he can't DS alone..
    Sam Mills (1959-2005) and Mark Fields - Keep Pounding


    Cry Cheese, And Let Loose The Wraithlords And Templar!

  6. #5
    Member El Barto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    England, more specifically, on my arse
    Age
    29
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Originally posted by Cypher-@Mar 12 2005, 10:53
    Er. Are you asking if an IC can deep strike solo?

    An IC in Terminstor armor can only Deep Strike with a Terminator Command Squad. No assault squads. Nothing bought as a seperate FOC choice. At least, i'm pretty sure he can't DS alone..
    [snapback]350474[/snapback]
    Yep thats pretty much right, he can only deep strike with a Command Squad normally , but if the mission you are playing allows Deep Striking then he can Deep Strike solo. Also if the mission allows Deep Striking then he can Deep Strike with any Deep Strikeable squad as well.

    I am not sure :hmm: about this but maybe a squad (like a tactical squad) with 9 marines in and an IC with Terminator Armour on taking a drop pod as a transport and then use that for Deep Striking in normal games. I really don't know if this is allowed though, I only just thought of it now :glare:.

  7. #6
    Senior Member Shas'el O'fen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Behind you, with a knife in your back.
    Posts
    433
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    I am fairly certain a Terminator Command Squad with an Independent Character can just teleport onto the table if he/she pleases. It can be an expensive option, though. You should only use it in games of 2,000 points of more.
    You must never forget the essence of your spark
    All of that which defines you is the essence of your blood
    The infection has been removed
    The soul of the machine has improved
    The infection has been removed
    The soul of the machine has improved

    Look into my eyes
    Tell me what you see
    Someone real?
    This is real!
    What you wish to be

  8. #7
    LO Zealot Chaosbrynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,810
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    71 (x4)

    IC may only deepstrike alone if the scenario allows. This is detailed in the terminator armor entry.

    IC's with terminator command squads may always deepstrike as per the terminator command sqaud rules.

    IC's may never deepstrike with other squads. IC's and other squads are 2 seperate FOC choices and must be rolled for (and scattered) seperatelly when rolling for reserves. And of course, only if the mission allows deepstrike.

    If the reserves roll succeeds for both of them ( and the do not scatter to far) you may deploy them both and attach the ic to the squad. But once again only if the mission allows it.

    Cheers,
    Chaosbrynn
    Mentor of Space Marine Commanders far and wide.

    Efficiency VS Point Cost VS Ease Of Use - Your best bets:

    1) Chaplain led Assault squad - 2 plasma pistols, powerfisted sergeant

    2) 8 man Devastator squad - 4 missile launchers

    3) Land Speeder Tornado - HB + AC

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Originally posted by box@Mar 12 2005, 070
    ok. why aren't independent models equipped with terminator armour allowed to deepstrike if the mission doesn't permit when normal termies are.
    [snapback]350416[/snapback]
    Why do they need too? If you ask me, characters and deep strike don't mix.

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    348
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Doesn't it specifically say that Lysander deep strikes with his retinue? Also, this leads to the burning question of why a Commander/chaplain/librarian can't take a veteran ability unless he is part of an HQ squad.

    My whole see but don't be seen army infiltrates except for the commander, who can't take the ability without taking a command squad.
    Jack of all trades, master of none.

  11. #10
    Senior Member Shas'el O'fen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Behind you, with a knife in your back.
    Posts
    433
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Yeah, but if you take a commander in Terminator Armor and stick him in a Terminator Command Squad then the whole squad can deep strike. Anything other than that, no deep striking. Think of the problems you could cause in larger games, though. "Wait... Where's their commander?" "Behind you." Then the chopping begins.
    You must never forget the essence of your spark
    All of that which defines you is the essence of your blood
    The infection has been removed
    The soul of the machine has improved
    The infection has been removed
    The soul of the machine has improved

    Look into my eyes
    Tell me what you see
    Someone real?
    This is real!
    What you wish to be

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts