Another Blow To The Daemonhunters - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    75
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Another Space Marine loophole has taken away one of the Daemonhunter's big advantages; mystics allowing a free shot a deep striking troops. In the Space Marine codex in regards to drop pods, it says nothing about using the deep strike rules when deploying troops via drop pods. Of course if a mystic can sense something about to materialize out of thin air, they would be able to sense a drop pod nearing, but that's logical and we know how much the rules for 40k and logic "sometimes" don't mix.

    The main reason for the rant, is that I am going to be playing witchunters/daemonhunters at Gamesday in L.A. and from what I have been reading on the internet there is a lot of complaints at the recent Grand Tournaments in regards to the people using drop pods in their Space Marine armies and how absolutely devestating they were.

    Now I have always deployed two mystics in my retinue to help against deep striking troops, so this is not something new, but has anyone heard/read anything in regards to drop pods and deep striking?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    75
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Cool, I found an official update by Pete Haines regarding this subject.


    " Daemon Hunter Mystics and Drop Podding SM - whom does the Retinue target with their "free shooting" - the Drop Pod? The Squad/Dreadnaught that jumped out?

    Either but not both"

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    184
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    Where did you see the update from Pete Haines? I realise you can't link to it but give us a clue

    AR

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    47
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Originally posted by Adeptus Ridiculous@Mar 17 2005, 10:10
    Where did you see the update from Pete Haines? I realise you can't link to it but give us a clue

    AR
    [snapback]354889[/snapback]
    haines

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Texas, not to be confused with America.
    Age
    27
    Posts
    565
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    0 (x0)

    It was him on a GW forum.
    Where's your Baritone Saxophone?

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    Yes. Go to the GW wh40k forums. One of the stickied MOD-created v4.0 clarification posts has this question & answer.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts