Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was just looking through Torquemada's stat line and saw nothing about Iron Will. Can it be assumed that, since he is an inquisitor lord he has Iron Will, and that they didn't print it to save ink? Or is he more of a pansy than your "joe shmoe" inquisitor lord (i.e. does not have Iron Will)?
Well, he's one of the most respected and powerful Inquisitors around. I'm sure he has Iron Will. Brother-Captain Stern doesn't have the "Grey Knights" special rule under his heading, but I suspect he might be a Grey Knight.Originally posted by Terzo@Mar 21 2005, 14:40
I was just looking through Torquemada's stat line and saw nothing about Iron Will. Can it be assumed that, since he is an inquisitor lord he has Iron Will, and that they didn't print it to save ink? Or is he more of a pansy than your "joe shmoe" inquisitor lord (i.e. does not have Iron Will)?[snapback]357813[/snapback]
There's an angel on my shoulder, in my hand a sword of gold.
It makes sense. He exorcises daemons for a living, so he'd kinda need a pretty strong will.
The above poster = Totally a member of the Fluff Masters Clan. Click here for fluff pwnage.
Come, sons of LO! Kneel before Poodle!
Mr_Wayne: "Some people believe that the World Eaters do not field any ranged weaponry. Those people often die at a distance."
I'm going to have to take the opposing stance here. While I'm sure that Torquemada IS a Lord fluffwise, you can't just assume that he has the same rules. His stats are different, his armoury access is different, his henchman rule just references the box on page 22 (that says Lords get X many and non-Lords get Y many) but increases the total and per-type limits.
The new SM special characters in the new SM codex all have their special rules SPECIFICALLY stated. Shrike & Lysander have "Rites of Battle", Cassius has "Honor of the Chapter" & "Litanies of Hate", etc. None of them are just ASSUMED to have those Special Rules because of their rank, it's explicitly pointed out.
Another example is the WH special character St Celestine. In her list of Special Rules, it is explicitly stated that she is a Sister of Battle. If that hadn't been pointed out, then she would be exempt from that status, REGARDLESS of the fact that fluffwise she is a SoB character.
Now, don't get me wrong, I think GW DID intend for Torquemada to be a Lord, same as they probably DID intend for Stern to be a GK, but the problem is, neither of them have it pointed out in their special rules.
So what does this mean? In my view, Stern doesn't have GK special rules, and Torquemada isn't a Lord. Should they have those rules? Of course. But GW left those rules out for these two charactes, while including them for all other special characters (where applicable).
Wait for a FAQ or bug GW, but going purely by the printed rules, I'm saying no to both rules.
Megalo, according to your view, a force with daemonhosts could include Brother Captain Stern. That would be quite interesting
Regardless a sent out an email, I'll let yall know when I get a response.
I think every pure GK player would keel over as soon as someone did THAT one! ^_^Megalo, according to your view, a force with daemonhosts could include Brother Captain Stern. That would be quite interesting
I wasn't saying that I was right, just that it left room for argument. I think it IS safe to assume that Torquemada is a Lord and Stern is a GK Hero, but I'm just going off of the lack of explicit clarification from GW. I fully expect them to reply in the affirmative to everyone else's takes on the matter!
Fact of the matter is that GW screws up and miswords all the time. ANd, everytime they do, it causes 1000s of hours of heated discussion about what it all means.
What it means is that GW screws up, and saying, "oh they didn't explixtly say that! You can't do that!" is retarded.
Megalo must be playing Devil's Advocate. He states that clearly one thing is a) correct and b) intended by GW, yet the other thing must be true. He is trying to further the debate, not actually prove a point....right?
Regardless, this is very obviously an error in the DH codex. Both special characters should have their special rules and GW should be chastised, again, for bad grammar/bad wording/just being lazy.
GW does stuff like this *all* the time
i mean Creed/Kell for example. Creed has Iron Discipline, but doesn't have the IG Officer "Leadership" ability... which is the only thing Iron Dicipline effects....
imo, GW has a certain level of assumage... unfortunatly, different people draw that line in different places...
The logical thing to do is follow the "Golden Rule" in the rulebook and use logic to keep the game fun.
I'm sure if you mentioned and explained it to your opponent, they would let you play it as it was obviously(or most likely) meant to be played.
In the case of tournaments, you could bring it up to the tournament organizer.
"Courage is not the absence of fear, it is the conquest of it." -Anon