Welcome to Librarium Online!
When I started I was told that because Black Templars invented the Crusader and so can have 3 of them.
Is this true...does it count for everyone or is it really an advantage Black Templars can have?
Yes, it is the case that the Land Raider Crusader was first used by the Templars and yes, it is true that they can use 3 of them.
However, this special 'gift' has since been somewhat removed as now any chapter created using the Codex: Space Marines may now take 3 also.
A notable exception the the allowance of 3 is the Space Wolves, who may still only take 1. There may be others that can only have 1 also, but I'm not sure.
Terminator Based Custom Chapter
Cheers for that.
Its a pity, was nice thinking it was a Black Templars big advantage (apart from the Vows of course)
Ah well..I'd want three anyway, not when all I'm aiming for at the momment is a 1000pt army.
None of the other "Big Four" Chapters may take more than one. It's in their F.A.Q.'s.
Only BT and Codex chapters may take three.
Sam Mills (1959-2005) and Mark Fields - Keep Pounding
Cry Cheese, And Let Loose The Wraithlords And Templar!
This is in the Armageddon Codex. The Black Templars invented the Crusader( I would know, I play as them) during part of their crusade so they can have as pretty much have all the Crusaders they want. Other chapters can only have a maximum of ONE Crusader in thier army, and yes, this includes the Imperial Fists even though the Black Templars were originally part of this chapter.
Playing a certain chapter obviouslly doesnt grant the user information then.
As per the new SM codex, any codex chapter (including those who are built through traights, as long as they dont have the Flesh over Steal drawback) may use up to 3 LRC in their army lists.
Aside from that, each of the Chapters who have their own mini-dex, are allowed 1 LRC as stated in the official FAQ's on GW website. These can be located in the pinned topic at the top of the space marine forum "Index of Space Marine Articles".
Mentor of Space Marine Commanders far and wide.
Efficiency VS Point Cost VS Ease Of Use - Your best bets:
1) Chaplain led Assault squad - 2 plasma pistols, powerfisted sergeant
2) 8 man Devastator squad - 4 missile launchers
3) Land Speeder Tornado - HB + AC
Are the ultramarines allowed to have 3 LRC's? That would be cool! They would rip apart swarms like nobody's business. Of course I would probably also have a pred or 2, but I'm just curious. Theres nothing about it in the codex.
If you could afford 3 Land Raider Crusaders in the army chances are you're playing 2 detachments, in which case you can still have a couple Preds. I might get a Crusader but its a major might.
Space Wolves can still have one regular reg LR and one LR crusader right?
Space Wolves- 4,000 pts
Dwarves in progress
there is no 0-1 limit on the Landraider so you can have as many of these as you want but there still is a 0-1 limit on the crusader.