Welcome to Librarium Online!
I am planning on buying a squad of assault terminators for my Dark Angel army and placing a Chaplain in terminator armor with them. First of all I was wondering if that is even legal for a chaplain to accompany an assault squad, second I need to know if you could buy Deathwing terminators or if I just have to buy regular terminators and paint them bleached bone. I know that Deathwing terminators can trade out long range weapons for close combat weapons for free but If I buy regular terminators then they wont come with the weapons I want so I will have to buy assault terminators right?
And also is it true that a new model of terminators is coming out? Is so then when?
I'll go through this point by point.
1/Is it legal for a Chaplain to accompany a Terminator Assault Squad? Yes, the chaplain being an IC, just declare he is joining the squad (as with any character).
2/It is perfectly reasonable to paint normal terminators bleached bone and call them the Deathwing.
3/Deathwing Terminators can't trade out Long Range weapons for free, they are a different squad now.
4/No, normal Termies won't come with Lightning Claws or Thunder Hammers.
The thing you need to do is buy the metal Assault Terminator blisters, as there come with the Lightning Claws etc. If you wanted normal Deathwing (Stormbolters and Powerfists) I would buy the plastic boxed set, but wait till the 9th of April when the new models come out. Having read both your posts, I suspect I know what your problem is..
Are you using the old DA rules? The Dark Angel Codex is out of date, Dark Angels now use the 4th Edition Space Marine codex and the downloaded extra rules from the website. So basically you can forget about being able to mix and match Terminator types in one squad as soon as you find the up to date rules.
I just recently bought the new codex and I wasnâ€™t sure if it overrode the chapter codex. Anyway, thanks for the help; incase you haven't noticed I am a relatively new player.
I didn't see Addoran mention it, so I thought I would add it.
Yes, the Chaplain can accompany the assault squad....UNLESS you want to Deep Strike them.
ICs can only Deep Strike with retinues.
Sam Mills (1959-2005) and Mark Fields - Keep Pounding
Cry Cheese, And Let Loose The Wraithlords And Templar!
ok, thanks.Originally Posted by RSIxidoroh darn I was counting on deep striking them to make them less slow. What do you mean by ICs and retinues part?Originally Posted by Cypher-
an IC (Independent Character) cannot deep-strike with a squad because you would be rolling for reserves separately since they occupy a different slot on the Force Organization Slot.
The only way for an IC to deep-strike with a squad is to give him a retinue. He no longer becomes independent (as the retinue occupies the same slot, and he is permanently a part of the squad), and cannot leave the retinue (or join another squad) while they are still alive. But the tradeoff is that he can deep-strike with them.
Normal SM cannot do this with Lightning Claw terminators, since the only "command squad" terminators are the ones with a powerfist.
I am not sure if an HQ can take a retinue of LC terminators under deathwing or dark angels, since I don't have their codex.
Oh, and wait a few more days for the new terminators, they are supposed to be very nice.
Wednesday nights at GW (Ontario Mills in Ontario, CA)
4-7-05 - SoB 1200, S&D Omega, Opponent was new.
4-7-05 - ME! Chris beats me again with his space wolves (he is a good palyer without his eldar).
SM termies are going to be in our GW store on monday. No word on assault termies though.
High Elves (BloodBowl)
Warseer Blood Bowl League
The current UK White Dwarf (304) mentions that the Assault Terminators are being re-done for release in the 'near future' (it's in the article about the history of termies - page 50). It mentions: 'these weapons are set for new plastics' which I take to mean they will use the new plastic termies and just add a assault weapons sprue.
ok I'm still a little confused about this. I could put him in the squad not as an IC and I can deep strike them, right? Would the weapons in the squad matter?