Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
can i equip a techmarine with a jumpack?
i dont think so. my view is that the tech harness would stop him from equipping one.
theres nothing to say you cant but i guess its like you cant equip terminators with jump packs. then again you could green stuff it on somehow ^_^
The techmarine is not required to take a servo harness. The codex allows you to take both however. I guess the techmarine incorporated a jump pack into his harness or something.
It is my understanding that once you equip him with a servo-harness, he may not take a bike/jump pack.
Sam Mills (1959-2005) and Mark Fields - Keep Pounding
Cry Cheese, And Let Loose The Wraithlords And Templar!
a techmarine can ride a bike/take a jumpack only if he doesnt have a servo-harness/terminator armor on. this was on the games-workshop forums covered by one of the heads of gw.. cant remember which..
Cypher is right. no jump pack or bike with a servo harness. Says so on the GW forum.
A guy down at the hobby shop explained that if you think about it, the servo harness and the jump packs are both backpacks, and you can't attach two backpacks to the same power/artificer armor. On a bike, the harness would be too much wiind resistance and constantaly automaticaly redistributing weight.
Where's your Baritone Saxophone?
too late since i already cut up a jump pack and converted it onto my techmarine uysing guitar string...
I know for certain terminators can't be equiped with anything from the armoury that doesn't have an asterisk next to it but it doesn't say anywhere in the rule book about a techmarine..
I'm gonna use it... totally legal in my head
I guess it could make for a interesting conversion at least. My view sides with Overcannon, argument just makes sense. Also realize, the if you take Gun servitors, then the squad moves at the slower rate, i.e. 6 inches. Basically making the jump pack useless. However, I guess you can have the Techmarine by himself... seems pretty silly/useless though, and doesn't maximize his potential.
40K-Beakies(9-14-4),Guard(4-7-2),Orks(34-12-11). FANTASY-Dwarves(15-6-7),Beasts (14-14-1), Skaven (17-17-10) DoC (6-1-2). CYGNAR (28-15-1)
"Technically" there is no rule stating that a techmarine in servo harness may not take a jump pack. It HAS been cleared up on the GW forum, although the legality of those rulings can always be questioned. In general, this is where you and you friend take a d6 and use it to decide wether it can be done. That or if you are planning onplaying competitivelly, ask a judge before hand.
Now, tactically, there is no good reason a techmarine should have a jump pack aside from attaching gim to an assault squad (although a chaplain is still a far far better choice. He is most certainlly not a combat monster as many people seem to believe and his repair abilities only trully shine when accompanied by servitors, witch of course may not have jump packs.
Mentor of Space Marine Commanders far and wide.
Efficiency VS Point Cost VS Ease Of Use - Your best bets:
1) Chaplain led Assault squad - 2 plasma pistols, powerfisted sergeant
2) 8 man Devastator squad - 4 missile launchers
3) Land Speeder Tornado - HB + AC