Imperial gaurd bayonets - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Craptown (Winter Haven), Florida
    Age
    26
    Posts
    190
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Imperial gaurd bayonets

    Hi everyone. I dont play imp gaurd or anything, but i did play against them once and the person i was playin said that th bayonets on the end of your guys' lasguns counted them as having a close combat weapon and gives them and extra attack. Is this legal?

    loves the funeral for hearts.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member Wite_Lite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Age
    25
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    I dont play guard either, but I'm pretty sure they don't. I'm not really sure.
    What would you do if a Carnifex "meow'ed" at you.

    Some pictures of my models

  4. #3
    Professional Lurker sithjack's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Schenectady, New York
    Age
    28
    Posts
    2,085
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    116 (x6)

    No they do not, bayonets are nothing but a fancy accessory.
    Veni Vidi Variant
    I came, I saw, I got a different type of Leman Russ.

    The spikey ones go faster.

    98% of the teen population has smoked weed, the other 2% went straight to crack.

    Saga of the Ages. Click it.

    Rules for grenades are on page 72 of the rulebook.

  5. #4
    Member Winters's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    130
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    No, bayonets serve no purpose besides decorative.

  6. #5
    Senior Member citybeatnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Age
    32
    Posts
    490
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x1)

    If they took the warrior weapon doctrine, perhaps, but I'm not read up on how the doctrines work.
    They're basically there to explain how/why the Guardsmen can fight in close combat. I glue choppas on the end of my shootas for much the same reason.
    "Some days you're the Mekboy building the kannon, the rest you're the grot being blown up by it."
    - Quote attributed to Sorkrates, before his much mourned death due to ingestion of Hemsquig Juice.

    "Dis iz my choppa, and herez me gun. Dat's for killin' and so'z dis one!"
    - Bloodaxe Kommando Warchant

  7. #6
    Son of LO ze_poodle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Evil Mountain
    Posts
    3,930
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    415 (x8)

    Your friend is hoodwinking you. Don't play with people who **** with the rules.

    A unit only has as many attacks as is described in their profile and another if they have an extra combat weapon noted in the profile. If it just says 'lasgun' than they only get the one.

  8. #7
    Lasgun Cell Cook BoxANT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Bloomington, MN
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,096
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    118 (x6)

    hehe yeah you've been had

    i'd like to give your friend the benifit of the doubt, but i don't even know *how* one would come to the conclusion! and besides, even if it *did* count as a CCW, they still wouldn't get an extra attack unless they had True Grit (and even that only works w/ bolters!). lol.

  9. #8
    Senior Member warrior poet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Vic,Australia
    Age
    26
    Posts
    827
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    37 (x2)

    You know it would be good if they did something(+1 I or A) cos i think it would fit in well with the style of the Imperial Guard.

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    USA
    Age
    29
    Posts
    181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    No, he's wrong now go do the right thing and bludgeon him with his own skull. Doesn't seem physically possible? Just ask Timmy...
    BattleFleet Gothic:
    Valhallan 23rd Imperial Navy: ~2500 pts
    Blood Lord SM Fleet: ~1000 pts

    Warhammer 40,000:
    Valhallan 23rd Imperialist Guard: ~6,000 pts
    BT SM: ~2000 pts
    DA SM: ~1000 pts
    BA SM: ~1500 pts
    Tau: ~250

  11. #10
    The Fallen Cheredanine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    SW England
    Age
    48
    Posts
    7,745
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    411 (x8)

    In the good old days (Rogue Trader), weapons worked differently, each CCW had its own effect, even if you only had a CCW, then you attacked at your normal stats, if you didnt have a CCW and had to improvise (hit people over the head with your rifle) you got some negative modifiers (something like -1 to str). Bayonettes turned rifles into CCWs. (hence bayonnettes for guard were usefull)

    Nowerdays, the additional +1A for second CCW only applies if you have a spare hand to use it with. A lasgun is a 2 handed weapon (regardless of if you are shooting it or hitting someone over the head with it - the rules make no distinction). sticking a bayonette on it doe not change this, and since the bayonnette is combined with the weapon it remains a single, 2 handed weapon, it just has a point on th end. it is not 2 distict weapons. You could use the baonette without putting it on the gun, but then you can not use the gun (since you already have the bayonette in one hand and th gun is a 2 handed weapon). So however you slice it, bayonettes no longer have a tangible effect on the game but are now simply ethetic.

    Before your "Friend" tries it, you can not equip a model with a 2 handed weapon (las gun) and 2 1handed weapons (2 bayonettes)

    He pays no points for the bayonette, dont let him dupe you with it

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts