Psyker Question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Psyker Question

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Age
    29
    Posts
    295
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    Psyker Question

    Is this legal:
    A Grandmaster buys Holocaust for himself, and gets a Terminator Retinue that also buys Holocaust. In melee, can two Holocausts be used in assault, one by the GM and one by the unit?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Phoenix Guard 1988's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL (yay college!)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    422
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    Simply, no, it isn't.

    Yes a grandmaster can purchase it, and yes a terminator squad can purchase it. But, a hero's retinue can't purchase it, it has no conduit. You can, however, buy a hero and join it to a terminator squad and, as long as you spend the points for it both, you can have it.

    And, yes, 2 holocausts can be used in assault, like they count as 2 seperate powers used at the same time. You need a psychic test for both and they must touch the caster.

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    53
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    Yes, both the Grey Knight Hero and his Retinue can get Holocaust and you can use two Holocaust. However, if the retinue suffers a Perils of the Warp, then they're screwed

    Reference:
    http://uk.games-workshop.com/downloa...s-faq-v4-0.pdf

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Wierd..Since the retinue dont have a Brother captain wich one is the conduit?

  6. #5
    Son of LO ze_poodle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Evil Mountain
    Posts
    3,930
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    415 (x8)

    If a squad of Grey Knights has no Brother-Captain, Grand Master or Justicar attached, they cannot use psychic powers. If you have squad of Terminators with a GM, then both can purchase Holocaust and both can be used in the assault phase. If the GM suffers a Perils of the Warp attack, only he takes the wound. However, if the Retinue fails the check, the entire squad is affected, and you're basically screwed.

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    But if the retinue does not fail... what model should you place the template base-to-base with?

    The codex says that in the case of a unit of terminator is uses the Brother-Captain ... who dont exits in the case of a retinue... but a retinue may use holocaust acording the the extremely well-written 4:ed faq.. .. hmm we maybe have another truegrit subject here... :rolleyes: .

  8. #7
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,497
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    21 (x0)

    Both templates are off the GM. The GM acts as the borther captain for the squad, so one holocaust comes from him, the other comes from the retinue but is channeled through him.


    Overall, I wouldn't recommend it, one holocaust should be enough. Plus, remember that using the force weapon to suck out a soul counts as using a power, you can't do that and use the GM's power same turn.

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    53
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    Well, I've found two Holocausts to be handy with my elite Inquisitor with PsyCannon and Consecrated Scrolls. He gives his squad of IST some heavy weapon lethality on top of their two Plasmaguns and well in combat they manage to hold and hurt whatever was sent to neuter them.
    The guys at the local gaming club says this (Holocaust + Holocaust from Consecrated Scrolls) is legal because one of does the same with some power in WH but I'm not too sure. Anyone knows?

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts