Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm trying to put together a force of SM that are taking Grey Knight Terminators as allies. I have the Deamonhunter Codex, but I'm confused by the wording, so here's a couple questions:
1) When the codex says "Grey Knights" is that referring to the whole force or only the troop choice called Grey Knights? Confusing since all other choices are usually GK xxx!
2) Especially referring to page 8 special rules, Fearless - to all or only the troops?
3) True Grit would only be those in power armour, not the terminators - correct? OR is terminator armour a type of power armour and the termies get True Grit?
4) The Aegis, does that benefit go to the terminators in thier armour?
5) Assume the termies get THE SHROUDING?
6) What armies have the deamons listed in the Deamonic Infestation special rule?
7) When purchasing Holocaust, is the cost (per unit) for the whole "unit" of termies or does each model/unit in the unit have to pay the points. Not sure what "unit" they mean.
Considering I have only been playing the game for 2 months and Space Marines that whole time, sorry for all the questions, but I really want to use the cool GK Terminators in a battle soon.
Thanks in advance for all replies and help.
Also, if you have any general comments or strategies for using GK termies, please post those as well.
i dont have GK book right here in front of me, but im pretty sure if it says GK then it gets all the bonus' of being GK, so termi's should get all the special rules for being a Grey Knight.
as far as buyin holocost, in the 'dex it talks about how since all GK have a small amount of Psycic ability they channel it through their squad leader, so i think you only pay it once, since only the Brother Captain gets it. That at least is how i interpreted it.
again im not looking at my dex right now though
When all else fails, burn every one... or missile them back the Golden throne
Evil Beware, we have waffles!
Every Grey Knight unit, not just the basic Troops choice. See DH codex, page 20, bottom right under "Grey Knights Terminology".1) When the codex says "Grey Knights" is that referring to the whole force or only the troop choice called Grey Knights? Confusing since all other choices are usually GK xxx!Anyone who qualifies as a Grey Knight (see the above question for who that is).2) Especially referring to page 8 special rules, Fearless - to all or only the troops?Terminator armor is NOT power armor, and NO they do not get True Grit. Now, there are varying opinions on this, since the 4th edition of the core rules kinda doesn't specify, but we have word from GW (granted, it isn't 100% official until it's in a FAQ or Codex, but this is close enough to rely on) that GK Terminators do NOT get True Grit. Also, Artificer armor does NOT count as power armor - literally, only power armor gives any GK this ability.3) True Grit would only be those in power armour, not the terminators - correct? OR is terminator armour a type of power armour and the termies get True Grit?Yes, this applies to anyone who qualifies as a GK.4) The Aegis, does that benefit go to the terminators in thier armour?Again, yes.5) Assume the termies get THE SHROUDING?Look on DH codex, page 20, just below the "GK Terminology" entry, there's a "Daemons Terminology" entry. Everything listed in there, with one exception, only exist naturally in a Chaos Space Marine (CSM) army. The one exception is the Eldar Avatar, which, of course, only exists in Eldar armies.6) What armies have the deamons listed in the Deamonic Infestation special rule?
Now, that isn't it though. I said naturally above, because there are other ways to get Daemons. DH codex, pages 49-51 detail the Daemonic Adversary rules. Basically what this does is allow ANY army that is fighting vs ANY army with GK in it (like your SM with GK allies) to use Daemon Packs or a Greater Daemon in their armies. So technically, anyone you play against while using GK in your army can have Daemons. That's the trade-off for including those awesome GK Terminators in your force! (Don't worry though, not many non-CSM players have extra Daemon models lying around to use when they run into a GK player)"Unit" in 40K always means a squad, or a single entry on the Force Organization Chart (FOC). "Model" is used to signify a single model inside a unit. So you pay for Holocaust ONCE for the entire unit of GK Terminators (but you only get to use it once per turn, not once per model). The Brother-Captain or Grand Master leading the squad of GK Terminators is the "psychic focus" of the power, so the template for Holocaust is placed as if the BS or GM cast the power. Also, if the BC or GM in the squad dies, you can no longer use Holocaust, since the squad has lost it's focus.7) When purchasing Holocaust, is the cost (per unit) for the whole "unit" of termies or does each model/unit in the unit have to pay the points. Not sure what "unit" they mean.
Hope that helps!