Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The other day i was in a battle with my friend and he took a 300 point hq and i laughed cause i was packing a librarian
It cam down to cc as usual and i caused one wound on him and i told him he was dead then he showed me this rule that says his lord is imune to instant death. So is the force weapon not a one hit KO in some situations.
Any help would be great
Did you make a Psychic Test in order to instakill? If you didn't or used another psychic power in the same turn, then you only caused one wound.
A force weapon is not "instant kill" as per the rule regarding instant death.. It merely kills them outright, there is a difference
yeah if you passed the psychic test, he's dead
Ditto!Originally Posted by gypsy
Yeah. A force weapons instant kill is totally differnt from the "instant death" rule. That result from having of weapon of double toughness (i.e. a power fist or lascannon) wound the character in question. But ANY character, from the Nightbringer to the lowliest hormagaunt is subject to the instant death inflicted by a sucessful psychic test following a force weapon wound. Otherwise, you could just take a power weapon and have the same effect for about 20 less points. You don't ALWAYS kill a character outright with a force weapon, but if you havent used another psychic power, you managed to wound with the librarian/psyker, and passed the psychic test, the wounded character is dead regardless of whatever saves or special rules he has.
Yeah thats right he should have been dead because the model is killed outright sucked into a warp not 'intantly killed'.
The piece of Wargear you describe was probably a Daemonic Rune or an Adamantine Mantle.
To cut a long story short, you can still use the force weapon for the 'One hit kill', seeing as it doesn't count as the Insta-kill (which is double strength Insta-kill laid down in the rulebook) for the purposes of that piece of Wargear.
I've got a friend who pulled that one before. He's just screwing with you. Force weapons kill outright regardless of wounds if you pass the test, basic rule. It's not instant-death from double strength.
This is the same friend who tried to convince everyone that any model in base-to-base contact with Kharn the Betrayer suffers one wound immediately without any saves. Dumbass.
So he was screwing with me i though so but that is ok i won any way.
Basically the force weapon is death to all of those chaos lords, who take 200 points of wargear and deamonic gifts. What a waste