Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
When a character uses holocaust, you have to put the template so it is in contact with him. The question is, how much has to be in contact with him? Could you put it so he is only partially under the template and only gets hit on a 4+, or could it still be touching the base but off of the actual model causing no hit?
1500 years ago everybody knew the Earth was the center of the Universe
500 years ago everybody knew the world was flat
5 minutes ago you knew humans were alone on the planet
Imagine what you'll know tomorrow
Rules say "anywhere in contact with the psyker". I would suggest placing it so the edge of the template touches the edge of the model's base, so that you don't accidentally kill your own commander with his own psychic power.
Wouldn't it still have a chance to kill the caster?
If it's touching doesn't that mean it's partially covered?
Where is the rulebook does it say partial is 50% - 99% covering?
I would love for that rule to be correct, but I don't remember ever seeing anything that said a percentage for a partial. Therefore if it nicks the base it's partial as far as I know.
I believe any overlap at all is a partial. But please note, "touching the base" does not neccesarily entail any overlap, you can place the template "abstractly tangential" to the HQ's base. I would even go so far as to say this is assumed.
Now, if you really want to fry your head, do fellow GK hit by the Holocaust benefit from the Aegis power? I see nothing to say that they don't, which makes friendly fire casualties in an all GK engagement exceedingly rare.
Well if it did, it would nullify the power completely. However, Aegis would not work against your own holocaust, the rules for Aegis specifically mention enemy psykers.
There's an angel on my shoulder, in my hand a sword of gold.
I thought that clearly implied that there was no overlap, since they're edge to edge.Originally Posted by mEGALOMANIAC
Very clearly.Originally Posted by mEGALOMANIAC
Just put the template in b2b with the psyker and try not to hit any of your own troops. The Brother-Captain/Grand Master will be safe.
holocaust is used like standard ordance with a few stipulations
1st it must be in contact with the base of the psyker.
2nd friendly units under it can be damaged as normal
3rd since it is not like a flamer only a partial or better can do damage
4th if the psy-check is a total failure the GK unit as a whole takes a hit regardless of the
5th Aegis is a unit ability so an individual couldn't use it.
Hey, if Brother-Captain Stern is surrounded by say, 10 Khorne berserkers, take the hit and kill all that you can.