Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
My friend is starting Tyranids and to counter I'd like to add a Death Watch team to my Dark Angels army but it says in the Codexark Angels FAQ that I'm not allowed allies.
Do Death Watch count as allies? My friend will let me play them anyway but I like to have things 'correct'. The Death Watch is different from the other Inquisition as it is made from SM's but I guess that the DA would still be against them as they are not part of the inner circle etc
I could justify them as being DA recruited Death Watch marines who have returned to the Chapter (it's how the UM Tyranic War Vets started according to the WD article after all).
What does everyone think and am I 'legal' to use Death Watch with DA?
I'm fairly certain you can take them. Yes, but you'd better wait for a second opinion on it.
Im also fairly certain that DA can have GK support to, though theres a rule for it...hell, Im not a DA player so I don't know =^.^= lol
I mean after all, you do have DA Death Watch marines, as they come from most chapters.
Want to chat? You can normally find me in the LO CHAT!
LO CHAT! JOIN US NOW AND BECOME A GOD OF BACON.
Rather than guess at the answer ( why do people do that, post their guess without looking it up?):
Straight from the current FAQ. DA may not take allies including Deatwatch.
I also consulted the latest chapter approved Deathwatch Kill Teams, US WD305 page 98. They may only be attched to Space Marine armies picked from Codex Space Marines.
Additionally, as you pointed out, DA may not take ANY allies, which includes GK, also in the FAQ.
i guess you can because Alien hunters are brought from different chapters so you shoudl be allowed to use them . because its just like a dark angle going to the tyrinic training camp and coming back so you prebly be able to
Nope sorry, no Deathwatch, Daemon Hunters, or Witch Hunters. We Unforgiven are too secretive to work with any of those types. All this for the reasons that Wolf Raider stated above.
Veni Vidi Variant
I came, I saw, I got a different type of Leman Russ.
The spikey ones go faster.
98% of the teen population has smoked weed, the other 2% went straight to crack.
Saga of the Ages. Click it.
Rules for grenades are on page 72 of the rulebook.
just wondered... does that also count for upgradig one of the unitmembers to be a Deathwatch? i mean... he's still a DA, he just volunteered to go to a school, to become a "better warrior", but he's still a DA... so i dont see why he couldn't come back...
Talk about desperate!!!Originally Posted by me_meza
You just have to live with the fact you can't use them.
Terminator Based Custom Chapter
If you use any unit option not listed in Codex: Dark Angels or Codex: Space Marines then you are using an ally.. It doesnt matter if you're "upgrading" a model since you are using allied rules to do so
Also, the Deathwatch rule state that non-codex marines (eg Dark Angels) are not able to take Kill-Teams, or to upgrade members to Deathwatch status.
Greetings from Planet X, I hope you enjoy your day.
Join us in the Librarium Online Chatroom
Originally Posted by sithjack
I remember reading in the Daemonhunters Codex (which I don't have with me right now) that DA COULD use GK allies. I will double check when I get home though, so don't hang me if I am wrong.