Welcome to Librarium Online!
A friend of mine recently brought an army of catachans, and some of their rules confuse me to say the least. I played him for the first time yesterday, and as we were setting up our forces, he suddenly declared the table we were playing on "jungle terrain", and said that I could only move at half speed bacause my troops were not trained to fight in a jungle, and that all of his models now had a 4+ cover save no matter where they were on the table and what they were doing, for a mere +3 points per model. He was unable to show me the rules in the codex however, so I denied him his bonusses, under much protesting. Now, where can I read the real rules for these rambo look-a-likes? And what qualifies as "jungle terrain"? A trashed dining table with stacks of pizza trays for cover does NOT qualify as jungle in my book... doesent wysiwyg count for this kind of special terrain too?
Okay here is the link for the new Catachan Codex: http://us.games-workshop.com/games/4...x/armylist.htm . It is free from the GW website so use it to prove your friend wrong. He is right that he should get his 4+ armor save and that you move slower, however, he doesn't have the right to declare the whole board Jungle Terrain. I mean thats like me declaring to a nids player that all terrain is negledgable, you just can't do that unless both sides agree. It sounds like your friend is cheating his way to victory, so make sure you know the rules, and point them out whenever he tries to argue.
Terrain doesn't have to be wysiwyg because, well, not everyone has terrain or is good at making it, so it is okay to call a cup a bunker or whatever.
Last edited by bloodinferno; June 26th, 2005 at 16:18.
Sounds like your 'friend' tried to pull a fast one and wanted a win. Next time he does that, just pull all your forces off the table and pour a large container of orange kool aid over the whole playing surface and tell him that your using "Agent Orange" and will be back when this particular portion of the jungle has been defoliated.
Oh yeah, also tell him that he must lose at least one out of every ten minis due to the cancer causing properties of said Agent Orange.
You should also get a copy of the Catachan Codex-its a free download from the GW Chapter Approved site. The first rule of warfare is "Know your enemy"
I have a copy of every current codex and have read them. If you know your enemies forces better than he does then your halfway to a win.
By the way I am 54 years old have spent 20 years in the military and have been miniature since my early 20's. So this is not advice from just another NooB
"Every day above ground is a good day"
"Sometimes I feel like the winner in the Aztec Lucky Virgin contest"
Yes Catachans do get 4+ Cover saves in Jungle, and get to move freely through it. Like said before, both sides have to agree what is "jungle", and it certainly isn't the whole board.
"A love for tradition has never weakened a nation, indeed it has strengthened nations in their hour of peril."
Sir Winston Churchil
If this doesn't work and he decides to make a board covered in jungle bits then go uber-wysiwig on his ass, paint your entire army silver and say las-weapons can't hit you as they bounce back into his eyes, meaning each of his guys that shoot make the shots against themselves.
Or something of that nature...
Don't ask what your country can do for you, Ask what you can do for your country, Only once you have asked yourself that shall your country do everything in its power for you --My twist on a JFK quote
He got the movement wrong too, you move by picking the highest of 2d6, not half your movement rate.
... only triumph could turn pooing his pants into a good thing..
Thank you guys!
Now, hug big are these patches of jungle terrain supposed to be? Large enough to cover entire squads? Or platoons? Or just IC and heavy weapon teams?
Well Sareld you are not entirely right....
He didn't claim the entire battefield jungle terrain, only the part he was standing in, and I think that pizza trays could count for jungle in the same matter that the counted as building later on, but I'm not the one to complain since I owned both of you with my Tau forces... Suits 4-ever
Yes I was there too, actually we were playing at my house