Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Just have a few simple questions about bikes...I'm not sure if these are answered in anything that I can find.
2) "Up to two Bikers can be armed with a weapon from the following list: flamer, meltagun, or plasmagun." Does this replace their twin-linked bolters? As there's no reference to this, and it says the Bikers are armed with it...not the Bike...
3) Just to clarify this up...does the model need two hands to use the Bike? Somewhere in the rulebook I think it said they didn't, so I could give characters/Vet sergeants pistols and the likes..?
4) New one - if an Attack Bike shoots its Heavy Bolter, can the squad still assault? Again, don't have my rulebook..
Thanks for any help in advance.
EDIT: Doing some quick searches in the Tactica posted, number one was answered...
As for number two, I think it's logic here..."Each bike is armed with twin-linked bolters" vs. "Up to two Bikers mcan be..."
Don't have my rulebook on me right now to find number three..
Only the ones that say "Bike Squadron" can fall under the "Be Swift as the Wind" heading. Attack bikes are actually listed on the side as Attack Bikes and Scouts are listed as Scouts.1) When you take "Be Swift as the Wind" does the term "Bike Squadrons" refer to ALL of them (Normal, Attack, and Scout) or just the Normal bike squadrons?Nope, doesn't replace the weapon, cause they carry it in their hands. It only replaces the weapons on CSM bikes.2) "Up to two Bikers can be armed with a weapon from the following list: flamer, meltagun, or plasmagun." Does this replace their twin-linked bolters? As there's no reference to this, and it says the Bikers are armed with it...not the Bike...They only need ONE hand to pilot the bike, so they can carry the plasma gun or other special weapon. Unless, of course, if you are playing with the old White Scars rules where they can have a weapon in each hand. Unfortunately the old White Scar rules got nerfed with the new SM codex.3) Just to clarify this up...does the model need two hands to use the Bike? Somewhere in the rulebook I think it said they didn't, so I could give characters/Vet sergeants pistols and the likes..?Yep, bikes get full attacks before and after the charge. It's one of the perks of being a bike.4) New one - if an Attack Bike shoots its Heavy Bolter, can the squad still assault? Again, don't have my rulebook..
Last edited by H0urg1ass; July 10th, 2005 at 03:09.
Actually, for number one..Originally Posted by H0urg1ass
Chaosbrynn's tactica said that all of them count, as stated in a GW interview. I originally thought what you stated, but the Tactica proved me wrong...
Thanks for the replies. ^_^ I editted the original post with another Q..
EDIT: You saw it already. Haha. Thanks!
1. Yes, it does indeed apply to all Bikers, including the brave newberts of the Tenth Company.Originally Posted by Lost Nemesis
2. The Marine Biker is the one that totes the weapon. You still keep the twin-linked bolters, and their rapid-fire before charging goodness.
3. You can arm Biker Characters as you could a footslogging or jump-packing character. It's assumed your Character is either making weapon swaps on the fly or he's steering the bike with his knees. I'd like to get a Bike Squad just so I could model the latter of the two on the Veteran Sergeant and a Biker Chaplain/Librarian/Master.
4. See page 53 of the BGB. Yet another example of the coolness of bikes.
Chaosbrynn wrote an excellent Biker Tactica article. It has great insights on bikes in general, so I recommend you give 'er a read. There's a link in one of the stickied threads. Glad I could help you again. ^_^
Victorus aut mortis,
Last edited by Archetype-; July 10th, 2005 at 03:10.
You got a copy of this interview in the form of a link to an official GW site or something so I can see this in person? I'll be really annoyed if they've given SM's yet another break. I mean, attack bike squadrons as troops?? That's ridiculous. Nothing against you personally, I play an all bike army too, and I think that attack bikes as troops is kind broken.Chaosbrynn's tactica said that all of them count, as stated in a GW interview. I originally thought what you stated, but the Tactica proved me wrong...
No need to worry there, H0urg1ass. Attack Bike Squadrons still count as Fast Attack in a non-Ravenwing army. They do count as Heavy Support there, but you're still limited to three. Besides, that's a unit begging for a Battle Cannon.Originally Posted by SM Bike Tactica: Pt 2
By the way, click here for that interview you wanted.
Victorus aut mortis,
Many thanks for the link. I just love how this crap never gets where it SHOULD be such as in the WD that I subscribe to every damn month.
I mean, seriously, there should be a FAQ in every stinkin WD that comes out, I KNOW that there are enough questions about the game out there to fill at least one page of every WD with a simple FAQ.
They could also make a decent FAQ for Space Marines in general instead of having us running around like chickens with our heads cut off in the dark. Much less effort, and we get our questions answered. Those FAQs for the Big Four just don't cut it.Originally Posted by H0urg1ass
Victorus aut mortis,
Dammit, Sorry - Knape97 here. Had a nightmare with the quote and edit buttons and accidentaly deleted your post
Sorry, was a complete accident.
Last edited by Knape97; July 11th, 2005 at 04:58.