Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
It looks like the rulebook is being a little vague...(no surprise!)
Someone told me in another thread that if I equip a Biker with a Plasma Gun, I can't charge into CC when I rapid fire. Well, here's a quote that sort of supports him:However, this one is what throws me off:If rapid fire weapons are mounted on a bike then they are allowed to fire once up to maximum range even if the bike moved.As I pointed out, the first one specifically references bike-mounted weapons. However, the second quote leaves that specification out and simply generalises rapid fire weapons.In addition, rapid fire weapons (note: no reference to bike-mounted!) and heavy weapons may be fired if the unit moves and the bike is still allowed to charge into close combat in the same turn.
So, putting together the two quotes, it says I can do the following:
Biker w/ Plasma Gun - I can shoot it twice with rapid fire range, but not up to maximum because it is not mounted on the bike. However, I can still charge into CC with it because it is a rapid fire weapon and the bikes allow you to do so according to the second quote.
Just wanna get some clarification on this. If I can't charge with the plasma guns, I need to swap them out in my army list for some melta. If I can, then I'd like to keep them where they are.
I deleted my post before you answered sorry.Originally Posted by Lost Nemesis
I am now of the opinion that it is possible given the rule you point to.
However, I do know many players still believe you cannot charge after rapid firing a plasma-gun from a bike
I interpret it like this:
You can shoot like you were stationary with the bike mounted weapons, and charge afterwards.
You can shoot with driver mounted rapid fire weapons as if you moved and still charge afterwards.
But maybe it is a flaw in the clarification.
Warhammer Fantasy: Warriors of Chaos, High Elves
Warhammer 40k: Eldar, Space Marines, Orks
The rule you refer to specifically states that you may shoot a 'rapid fire' even if you moved and you may still assault afterwards.
The rule in question is in the 'Bike' section of the rulebook and I think it is pretty clear.
My opinion is that indeed you can fire and charge.
My only doubt is where it says "If a Rapid Fire weapon is mounted on a bike"... does that mean literally 'on the bike' or being held by a rider who is mounted? If meant literally it would make no sense because there are no Rapid Fire Bike Mounted weapons (are there?), so I opt for the latter.
Both ways make sense, however, the way it is worded in the rulebook contradicts the general belief, and nowhere does it say "it must be bike-mounted to still allow you to charge"..it simply says "rapid fire and heavy weapons" ... "the bike is still allowed to charge into close combat the same turn."Originally Posted by MiketehFox