zealots with guard - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Wave Man Kahoolin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,019
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    208 (x5)

    zealots with guard

    Hi Witch Hunters
    Say I have a guard army with a few sisters units as allies, is there any way I can use zealots as allies too?

    If they can only be used when all compulsory troop slots are filled, but I can only ally two WH troops choices, what do I do? Do I count the guard platoons who are actually my compuslory troops and then ally the zealots? Or can I just not use them at all? I hope this is not the case as I think fluffwise you should definitely be able to ally zealots with guard...

    Any opinions?

    Last edited by Kahoolin; July 25th, 2005 at 08:00.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO Pierced53's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    2,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    222 (x7)

    If you have 2 guard platoons then you can take them I think, but I'm not sure. Try asking someone in GW.

  4. #3
    Back in action! Lord Yossanrion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Canberra, ACT, Australia, reading "Make-Out Paradise."
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,833
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    206 (x6)

    It saya 0-2 troops units, and the zealots are troops units. They are not compulsary, but it never says in the allies section that you must fill compulsary slots. So I would say, yeah, you can.

    Yossanrion
    Anzac Clan!
    Final Fantasy!

  5. #4
    Son of LO Pierced53's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    2,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    222 (x7)

    Quote Originally Posted by Lord Yossanrion
    but it never says in the allies section that you must fill compulsary slots.
    Not in the allies section, but in general, you have to. You must fill the parent list's compulsary slots before you can take allies.

  6. #5
    Wave Man Kahoolin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,019
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    208 (x5)

    That's right, but what I want to know is, since zealots appear in the witch hunter's list, does the "parent list" mean the witch hunters list, or the guard list?

    If it's the WH list then I can't use zealots at all with my guard as to fill up the compulsory slots I need 2 squads of sisters, which uses up all of my allies troop slots (0-2).

    If on the other hand the "parent list" is the guard list then I can use them, and I could use them even without sisters or storm troopers, maybe even by themsleves (although this is not what I was going to do.)

    I read somewhere else on this forum that to use zealots you have to have your compuslory troops slots filled. That's where all of this confusion is coming from. So if by some chance that's not true, then everything's fine.

  7. #6
    Back in action! Lord Yossanrion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Canberra, ACT, Australia, reading "Make-Out Paradise."
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,833
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    206 (x6)

    No Compulsary troop choices on the Allies, I'm sure. Only on the Guard in this case.

    Yossanrion
    Anzac Clan!
    Final Fantasy!

  8. #7
    Wave Man Kahoolin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,019
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    208 (x5)

    Sweet, then I can have zealots with guard (sounds like a sandwich).

    Good thing too, seeing as I remember a piece of fluff (maybe even in the zealots WD article) where the guard were fighting alongside zealots, so I think it should definitely be allowed!

    Thanks guys

  9. #8
    Member illovich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Age
    45
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    I may be reading this wrong, but it looks like Zealots are only meant to be attached to the Witch Hunters army (since no rules are included cor incorporating them into other armies), and that sort of makes sense given their nature (as zealots).

    According to the rules in WD292 (pp 82-83), they "do not count toward the minimum number of compulsory Troops choices you must include." Which is clarified as meaning you need 2 Troops choices in your army before you can include a squad of Zealots.

    Which seems to rule out using them as part of an allied force (if 2 squads is all you get -- sorry, not up on using allies).

    I guess it's probably up to your opponent, but I could see someone not allowing it, if they actually read the article that is.

    But my question would be... are they worth it? Are you thinking of doing a suicide bomber thing with the Exterminators? Or is it a horde strategy?

  10. #9
    Wave Man Kahoolin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,019
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    208 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by illovich
    But my question would be... are they worth it? Are you thinking of doing a suicide bomber thing with the Exterminators? Or is it a horde strategy?
    Something like the first I guess...

    I just think they would be cool, haven't thought too much into tactics yet

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts