Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I read in the 40k rulebook, confirming what BoxANT had brought up, that independent characters fight as their own unit, meaning you have to be in base to base contact with your commissar to get his attacks in on a combat. this derails my previous belief that he just had to be within 2" of a conscript in base to base to be able to get his full attacks.
you could still make your conscripts fight to the last man for 50pts per platoon with the combo however. something that might be useful for a platoon of 30-40 that were to serve as a dedicated tarpit.
well, i dont like comscripts as it is.
PROUD TO BE IN THE BRITISH ARMY.
~~ Surrender and serve me in life, or die and slave for me in death~~
I would never buy an Independant Commissar for less than 30 Conscripts personally. 20 or less is just not all that much of a roadblock for most armies, but 30+ starts looking really scary to an opponent.
Not to mention an Independant Commissar is one heck of an expensive model for it's capabilities, so you wouldn't catch me spending that many points for such a small squad.
I would keep the Commissar cheap if it was me and just use his leadership to keep those Conscripts in combat.
I run 30 conscripts with an I.C. and, yes it works very well. Power weapon, bolt pistol and that's all he gets. I actually like the independant characters in cc rule in this case. The Commissar isn't that tough, so the idea of him being stuck in a rampaging orc warbosses kill zone until I have no other choice is unpleasant. Keep the commissar back, because Ld10 is ALL he's good for.
There is a way to get around this you know...
IF you have a commissar in your command squad and your platoon command squad, THEN you can have an "untargetable" commissar in your conscript platoon and still use him in combat, and he only has to be within 2" of combat to get his attacks. For me, commissars never seem to take out their point value, however, if you put a commissar in your command squad and in your platoon command squad and then plopped down a untargetable commissar with a powerfist in a 40 wound conscript meatshield, well that's a different story. Never done that myself, not really my style (I have a thing against conscripts), but it would work.
The main point here is that if the commissar is not taken as an independent commissar, then he fights just like a beefed up sergeant. Albeit, you have to take 2 additional commissars to take him but still...
Also, if you took the Grenadiers doctrine you would only have to take one commissar (for your command HQ) if you wanted him to be untargetable.
Thats what I love about the Guard, so many possibilities!
When I had first started playing 40k, I did the three Commissar trick and all I remember is my 50 conscripts tied up an Eldar Avatar for the entire game... not too spectacular but very frustrating for my opponent.
I am the Aquila-Guerilla!
haha I bet!
interesting thoughts about the regular commissars, the only problem is I run a command squad heavy army since I typically play an infantry company. 1 for the command squad, 2 for my 2 basic platoons 1 for each heavy weapon platoon if I go that route..gets to be a pretty mighty point sink to get that one commissar in each command squad so I can attach one to the conscripts.
I suppose I could rework my list, do 1 for the command hq squad, 1 for a gigantic platoon, then 1 for the conscripts (second troop choice) and add armor instead of heavy weapon platoons like most people do
going off that grenadiers idea - it's nice, but you can only have 1 conscript platoon for every regular IG infantry platoon you take, so, you'd have to take a regular platoon to enable the conscripts to be taken I think.
Alas! This is not true. You can't attach a commissar to a squad of conscripts UNLESS he is independent. There's no other way. The rules specifically say "...no...[f-ing] way"Originally Posted by ^Heavy Support^
Sorry. I was so incredibly thriled once, when I thought about a commissar with 50 wounds wielding a power fist... but it's not to be.
The other problem is that it's only a S6 powerfist. As much as I'd like to run hidden powerfists in Guard, it just doesn't have the whammy of an SM hidden fist.
a guard powerfist still kills sm/csm with ease.
[quote]Alas! This is not true. You can't attach a commissar to a squad of conscripts UNLESS he is independent. There's no other way. The rules specifically say "...no...[f-ing] way"[unquote]
actuall on p40 in the sidebar its says that 'if all Command and Platoon HQ's have an advisor of a given type then the remainder are individually assigned to infantry squads, armoured fist squads or stormtrooper squads.' Does infantry squads include conscript squads because if it does then this jammie commisar think will work.