Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I am new to imperial guard, and i'm trying to work out which leadership bounses stack with which (particuarly which will go through a vox). As i understand it, if you put a commissar into the HQ with a ld9 officer, that would give ld10, and then if a squad was in close order, they would get a further +1 giving ld11?! And does this work via the vox or just in 12", or does the commisars bonus not propagate to other squads? Also, if the HQ squad is in close order, would that +1 also propagate, giving ld12 :eek:
Second question is to do with modifiers for casualties, outnumbering etc. If the command squad is under 50% (-1ld), does any squad using the officer's ld get the -1 hit as well? And i suppose its to much to expect that the un-modified officer's ld can be used by a squad which is outnumbered at the end of cc (its not like the officer is outnumbered after all!)
Thanks in advance for any clarification.
No- the highest you can ever get is leadership 10 (11 in one weird situation). If you use close order drill, you can only use the base leadership of THAT UNIT. So for example, if you have a heroic senior officer, he is leading the unit with Ld.9 if he was in close order drill they would have Ld.10.
Vox casters do transmit the +1 leadership of the commissar but not close order drill(so leadership 10 if you have a hso), and it cannot stack with close order drill because of the reason I mentioned before.
The one way you can get Ld. 11 is if a commissar shoots the commander of the unit and takes control (Ld. 10) and gets a +1 for close order drill.
so you can't combine close order drill (in the HQ) and the commissar bonus?
Originally Posted by ^Heavy Support^
The rulebook is clear that no characteristic can ever be above 10. 10 is, in all cases, the maximum.
Basically, all you have to remember is that if you use close order drill, you can only use the leadership of the leader of that unit, and you cannot use vox casters, officers within 12 inches, or anything else.
Close order drill's +1 leadership bonus applies to THAT UNIT ONLY and close order drill cannot stack with anything.
So let's say that you have a heroic senior officer with a commissar and in close order drill- because the heroic senior officer is leading the unit, you have leadership 9 and you can have either a +1 from close order drill or a +1 from a commissar but not both.
The highest leadership that can emanate from a command squad via 12" or vox casters is 10.
I dunno, I'm looking at the rulebook right now and all it says is this and nothing more:Originally Posted by Tomjoad
"All characteristics are on a scale of 0-10 the higher the characteristic the better it is, except for saves"
The characteristic is all it says and the commissar's characteristic is 10- it doesn't say anything about pluses or minuses to those characteristics. Kind of a grey area, but I've never been in a situation in which something is over 10 except for this.
Actually, the +1 Leadership given by the Commissar does not pass through the Vox!!!!
Sorry, but it's true.Page 41, Imperial Guard Codex, under Commissars, last sentence of the second paragraph under Summary Execution.The presence of a Commissar in a unit will therefore add +1 to the Leadership characteristic of the Officer or Sergeant commanding the unit for tests affecting the unit.
Well it does say that, but in the updated 40k FAQ on GW website it says it does.Originally Posted by Lost Nemesis
NO, it doesn't. It affects his 12" ring of Ld influence, but the effect is not conveyed down a com-link.Originally Posted by ^Heavy Support^
Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
Well, I think it does because:
1. It shows that the commissar's leadership bonus applies to more than just his own unit.
2. Under the vox caster listing it reads that it does not recieve bonuses from regimental standards or trademark items (which is understandable, because those are items that give their bonuses via sight) but it doesn't say anything about a commissar's leadership bonus. (one would think that if it were to be excluded, they would have listed it here with the other exclusions)
So it doesn't say anything that would bar the commissar's bonus and the commissar's bonus applies to other units. Also the way it is described in the FAQ is "the commissar focuses his mind quite nicely" I would think that his focus would also be focused whilst using the vox caster.