Grand-Master, brotherCaptian question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    81
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Grand-Master, brotherCaptian question

    i am modeling a Grand-Master/Brothercaptian from the new Malgus Calgar with some GKtermi sholder pads, and other things and i was wondering about the weapons choices.

    Should i model him to have 2 lighting claws, so that he would have 1 more attack and re-rolls, or should i give him just one lighting claw and his NFW, re-rolls and a forceweapon?

    Thanks GODFATHER


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot Addoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Liverpool, England
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,919
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    107 (x5)

    Erm, it doesn't work that way. You can't combine the special rules of two different weapons.

    See page 46 of the rulebook.

    Myself I'd take the Force Weapon any day.

  4. #3
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,270
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x3)

    hes right, no combining.

    I'd just saw off both of calgars arms and replace them with GK termie arms and other assorted bits. That would look kickass.

    I'n pack im gona use that for my inquisitor, expect jus gona use a psycannon arm.
    "Heresy is like a garden weed, it won't stop feeding until you... BURN THE WHOLE DAMN GARDEN WITH A FLAMER, BURN IT, BURN IT TO HELL!!!!!" "Is there a wittle puppy in the garden? ITS A DAEMON! BURN IT!"

  5. #4
    Son of LO mEGALOMANIAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cranston, RI
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,532
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x8)

    As the others said, you wouldn't get the LC's reroll when using the NFW.

    I'd suggest leaving the GM/BC with just the standard weapons.

    If you feel the need for an extra attack, drop the stormbolter and buy a power weapon (which is the cheapest one-handed weapon you can buy for a model in terminator armor). I've also seen models with a NFW/Chainfist combo, or even a NFW/Hammer combo. But a single Lightning Claw is a waste.

  6. #5
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,270
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by mEGALOMANIAC
    I've also seen models with a NFW/Chainfist combo, or even a NFW/Hammer combo. But a single Lightning Claw is a waste.
    I'd like to point out that all those combos (the ones qouted) are kinda pointless (sry Mega) as u can just by the hammer hand power if u want str 8 to deal with tanks (which is usually what they want).
    "Heresy is like a garden weed, it won't stop feeding until you... BURN THE WHOLE DAMN GARDEN WITH A FLAMER, BURN IT, BURN IT TO HELL!!!!!" "Is there a wittle puppy in the garden? ITS A DAEMON! BURN IT!"

  7. #6
    Son of LO mEGALOMANIAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cranston, RI
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,532
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x8)

    I'd like to point out that all those combos (the ones qouted) are kinda pointless (sry Mega) as u can just by the hammer hand power if u want str 8 to deal with tanks (which is usually what they want).
    Not really. Hammers and Fists count as power weapons, for one. Chainfists get extra penetration vs armor. Thunderhammers can stun. And since it's the same model, you could call it a Daemonhammer and have S8/power/stun attacks at Initiative versus Daemons. Hammerhand can't do any of that.

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    81
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    so if i had the NFW/chainfist combo, i'd get the bonus attack and either be able to choose between having 5 chainfist attacks or having 5 NFw attacks, right?

  9. #8
    Senior Member Terzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    313
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    10 (x1)

    Yes, you could choose to make 5 attacks at initiave one, str 8, rolling 2d6 armor penetration, or 5 attacks at initiative 4(5 for GM), striking with str 6.

  10. #9
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,270
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by mEGALOMANIAC
    Not really. Hammers and Fists count as power weapons, for one. Chainfists get extra penetration vs armor. Thunderhammers can stun. And since it's the same model, you could call it a Daemonhammer and have S8/power/stun attacks at Initiative versus Daemons. Hammerhand can't do any of that.
    wait wait.... hammer hand strikes in intitive order and demons have an invulnerable save I believe...so thats one thing the hammer hand can do better :p
    "Heresy is like a garden weed, it won't stop feeding until you... BURN THE WHOLE DAMN GARDEN WITH A FLAMER, BURN IT, BURN IT TO HELL!!!!!" "Is there a wittle puppy in the garden? ITS A DAEMON! BURN IT!"

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Vancouver
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    How can you get the lighting claws

    how can u get the lightning claws, do u have to order it specially? or do you just grab a lightning claw hero from the space marine section and convert it

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts