Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Okay, I have 2 questions.
1. Does anyone actually use these guys for anything besides conscripts?
2. What do you guys normally give them in terms of weapons and wargear?
Originally Posted by The Paint Monkey
my friend usually puts one with his herioc senior officer with a standard bearer
that way if someow they fail a morale check he can reroll it
also he usually puts conscripts close enough to go off the senior officers leadership by using a doctorine i think
seems to work well for him
I field commissars but it usually depends on the army, theme, and general preferance. For my Light Infantry all-comers army I field 2 commissars: 1 for Ld. support w/ Company HQ and 1 for CC support w/ Platoon HQ. Here's what they use:
Company Commissar (aka Young Commissar Teufel)
or I'll give him a Storm bolter instead of a BP and PW. Like I said his job is for Ld. so I kept his options to a minimum. This guy will run about 60 points.
1st Platoon Commissar (aka Youn Commissar Bulgakov)
Light Infantry, Chameleoline
His job is to infiltrate w/ the Platoon HQ squad and act as the hidden Powerfist bearer. In CC (w/ the charge) he'll have 4 Str. 6 Attacks, a 4+ regular save and a 5+ invulnerable....and if he is in cover when he attacks, then it becomes a nice +1 invulnerable cover save. Same is true if he was assaulted: 3 Str. 6 attacks, 4+ regular, 5+ invulnerable, and since he'll prolly be in cover (most likely woods cuz he'll infiltrate) he'' get an additional 4+ invulnerable cover save. So he's pretty solid. He runs about 112 points.
I don't use conscripts so I don't use my commissars to lead them....I find commissars are better when used with line platoons to bolster either their firepower or CC survivability.
Oh and the doctrines I use:
It's almost a Tanith army, but I don't use Hardened ( I did and then I realized +1WS doesn't amount to much....still hitting on 4+ on T4 enemies) and I use Stormies. Hope this helped
I think he means add to his invunerable save... but whats an invunerable save got to do with cover? :huh:
I usally give him a power fist if I feel like it, I think Im the only person who accually puts them within the command squads, the thing is with iron disicpline and hainvg a leadership of 10 is pretty good.
The Predator Lingers forth. Suddenly the sound of several wipping sounds can be heard far off into the distance, a second later the once mighty Predator ignited with flames. "Sir what was that" The srgt replied "Its those damn Broadsides"
Hear the wip, fear the Broadside.
he's just saying that since he has cameleoline, he'll get a +1 cover save when in cover.Originally Posted by Kaiser
Yeah thanks Box for clarifying. Sorry if that was a little confusing. What I meant was, if he was in cover when assaulting or when assaulted he'll get the +1 to his cover save because he has chameleoline. Which brings him to like a 4+ cover save (if in woods). And as the BRB states, cover saves are invulnerable, thus making that hypothetical 4+ invulnerable.
To sunm things up, becuase of chameleoline, whenevr this guy is in cover, he gets a +1 to his cover save, which is invulnerable.
I believe it states in the rules book somewhere (prolly on the section about cover) that all cover saves count as invulnerable. Correct me if I'm wrong :cool: