Can you take an Inquisitor Lord AND a Canoness? (or a palatine?) - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Member illovich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Age
    45
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    Can you take an Inquisitor Lord AND a Canoness? (or a palatine?)

    I think I'm missing something basic as I look over my army and the codex.

    The Codex says that 1 HQ and 2 Troops are compulsory, but that an additional HQ unit can be chosen. This means that I can have an I-Lord and a Canoness, correct? Given that priests don't actually count as HQ choices (why list them there? I dunno), it seems to make sense that I can take both (unless I missed a rule that they can't be in the same army).

    And a similar issue/clarification: Can I take a Canoness and a Palatine if I want (dropping the I-Lord).

    If I took a Palatine, which model is that? Same as the Canoness? :rolleyes:


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    The Orange Grey Knight MiketehFox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,830
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    196 (x8)

    Well is there anything saying you CAn't do what you said you wanted to do? are there any 0-1 over anything other than I-Lord, NOPE!

    so you can take I-lord and Cannoness/Palatine or 2 Cannoness/Palatines and up to 5 Priests as long as you have squads for them to join.

    Yeah, of you could dress up a Superior model an dsay its a Palatine.

    Mike

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    620
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x2)

    mike stop being mean to these juniors, and yes you can take both as a HQ choice. IMO i dont take inquisitor Lords because you cant keep him as independent characters, but its up to you.

  5. #4
    Member illovich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Age
    45
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by MiketehFox
    Well is there anything saying you CAn't do what you said you wanted to do? are there any 0-1 over anything other than I-Lord, NOPE!
    Well, there was nothing on the page that said that, but a few of the discussions here discuss whether you take a I-Lord OR a Canoness as your HQ choice, so it made me wonder if there was a rule not on the HQ pages that would forbid mixing the two (like you can't take Space Marines as allies in and Army that uses Sisters as troops).

    So I guess you could take 2 Canonesses, although that seems strange. But the extra wound and attack for 10 points sure seems worth it.

  6. #5
    The Orange Grey Knight MiketehFox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,830
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    196 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by ReaverRider
    mike stop being mean to these juniors
    If you could please point out how I'm being mean it'd be appreciated, illovich seemed confused to I justy made it as clear as I could with out being too plain, the Caps are there to ensure he dosen't mis-read the words, not that I think your too dumb to know how to read properly, just in case some other n00b has the same question or what ever.

    PS: It's Mike with a capital 'M' Ya way to serious man!

    Mike

  7. #6
    Senior Member Gimmers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    28
    Posts
    537
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by ReaverRider
    mike stop being mean to these juniors, and yes you can take both as a HQ choice. IMO i dont take inquisitor Lords because you cant keep him as independent characters, but its up to you.

    Sure you can point out their errors but you dont have to be snooty/ an ass about it like that exorcist thread... mIKE

  8. #7
    The Orange Grey Knight MiketehFox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,830
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    196 (x8)

    I'm not! I'm just making sure everything is clear! If I wanted to be snottY and an ass I could have made a huge post but never actually answer the question.

    I have to be forceful about my ideals sometimes as them are usally in the minority (Cause I do thing differently) so it may appear that way to you, but who knows, maybe you just don't like me?

    Mike

  9. #8
    Son of LO Pierced53's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    2,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    222 (x7)

    Let's play nicely children, and stay on-topic!
    Illovich needed help, Mike helped him, problem over!

  10. #9
    The Orange Grey Knight MiketehFox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,830
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    196 (x8)

    WooHoo! *Dances*

    Anyways, back to topic, the SoB HQs are relatively cheap compared to some other HQs, plus they can use Faith, so I can see the advantages of using 2, like, for instance if you have mostly sistes hoofin it, Canonesses with books of St. Lusius can help keep them moving up and not fall back, and if they do ya can mek them use the Fearless Faith power, which automatically makes them regroup, so if your lucky them may have not fallen back far at all.

    Give them JumpPacks and they make a good bait and/or a deadly little assault unit capable of ripping some units a new one.

    Mike

  11. #10
    Senior Member Montford981's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Age
    51
    Posts
    849
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    29 (x2)

    I have had some success using a pair of Canonesses.

    The first one has a full bodyguard, kitted out for CC, and mounted in a rhino.

    The other is Independant with a jump pack, and I use her as a spoiler ( rather like a lesser version of St Celestine, without her disadvanteages or advantages).

    -981
    "The sword that takes life gives life."

    -Japanese proverb.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts