Welcome to Librarium Online!
Im reading through the codex and I noticed something odd, Witch Hunters can have Lan Raiders but I didnt find any unit that can be transported in them, does anyone use LRs?
The Predator Lingers forth. Suddenly the sound of several wipping sounds can be heard far off into the distance, a second later the once mighty Predator ignited with flames. "Sir what was that" The srgt replied "Its those damn Broadsides"
Hear the wip, fear the Broadside.
Inqusitors and Inqusitor Lords. Rulled!!!
I think you may be reading it wrong. According to the Warhammer 40k rule book (p 62):What this says to me is that any vehicle on the transport page of the Witch Hunter Codex can be brought with an army, but it takes up a Force Org slot. The transports are under the main heading of Elites, so I guess they take an Elite Slot.Sometimes a unit entry in a Codex book will include a transport option, allowing a vehicle to be selected with the unit. These transport vehicles are directly assigned to that particular unit and are known as dedicated transports. Other transport vehicles are chosen separately and occupy a force organization chart slot (for example Eldar Falcons), and can be used to provide ad hoc transportation to any unit that can embark on it. - emphasis added
Since the land raider has no personnel restrictions, it could carry any squad not prohibited from using vehicles [e.g. Arco-flagellants] numbering up to 10 models. But it will usually eat an Elite(?) slot (except with Inquisitors w/ retinues), so it may be wiser to buy immolators and rhinos as part of squads. I'm not sure about that, as I don't have much playing experience yet.
The notes under the various sister squads that indicate they can take rhinos or immolators mean that they can take that as part of their squad, meaning you don't lose a force org slot. They don't mean that those units can only ever get into those vehicles.
Actually, you are.Originally Posted by illovichThe only army that can take a rhino or chimera as anything other than a dedicated transport are the orks. The transports are listed where they are in the WH 'dex because the layout guy decided that that is where they would fit, not because that is what type of choice they are. If you read the paragraph in the box at the top of the page, it tells you that the vehicles on that page can only be purchased as an upgrade for a unit that has them specified as a transport option and that they don't take up a seperate slot on the FOC.What this says to me is that any vehicle on the transport page of the Witch Hunter Codex can be brought with an army, but it takes up a Force Org slot. The transports are under the main heading of Elites, so I guess they take an Elite Slot.The only tank with a transport option that you can add to a WH army in any form other than as a dedicated transport is the Immolator.Since the land raider has no personnel restrictions...blah, blah, blahThat IS the only way you can get a Rhino.The notes under the various sister squads that indicate they can take rhinos or immolators mean that they can take that as part of their squad, meaning you don't lose a force org slot. They don't mean that those units can only ever get into those vehicles.
Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
Basically, you can take a transport for a squad if it is listed in the "transport" options in the text underneath the unit stats. You buy it for the listed points and can apply wargear/whatever. This transport does not take up a force organization slot and the unit that you purchased it with is the only unit allowed to ride in it. That unit does NOT have to begin the game in it, but the transport and squad are deployed at the same time.
illovich, you should reread the rules and read what helotaxi has to say, because you seem to have misinterpretted the rules quite thoroughly, in this instance.
You have just recieved the Amish Computer Virus. Since the Amish don't have computers, it is based on the honor system. So please delete all the files from your computer. Thank you for you cooperation.
Votewar 40k Mk1- 2nd Place
Votewar FB 1- 1st Place
Votewar 40k Mk5- 1st Place
Hmm, I do seem to have misread the rules. Funny how one sentence in a call out box can change everything, innit?
So then to sum up, Land Raiders are available only to Inquisitors (Lord or otherwise) who have retinues. At least it saves me from having to buy a bunch of land raiders :rolleyes:
Now a surgeon cuts off rotten limbs; and mangy sheep are isolated from the healthy; but a prudent Judge will not consider it safe to bind himself down to one invariable rule in his method of dealing with a prisoner who is endowed with a witch's power of taciturnity, and whose silence he is unable to overcome. For if the sons of darkness were to become accustomed to one general rule they would provide means of evading it as a well-known snare set for their destruction. - Malleus Maleficarum , part III.