Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have a question: is this rule means that all marines are fearless and cannot be pinned?
No, they can still be pinned and they can still take leadership tests.
The difference is that they automatically regroup at the beginning of their own turn and can act freely that turn. (Correct me if I'm wrong on this, it's changed so many times recently that I can't keep up)
There are some Marines, however, who are fearless and, yes, those Marines cannot be pinned and such. ALL Marines do not possess the normal Fearless rule, though.
H0urg1ass hit it pretty much right on the head. There are two factors in the "And they shall Know No Fear" rule that makes it pretty interesting. First, although Marines do have to take Leadership tests, if they fail they automatically regroup (even if they are under 50%) at the beginning of their next turn, as long as there are not any enemies within 6 inches of them. Second, they are not subject to getting caught if they lose combat and are forced to fall back....it simply resolves itself as a new combat next assault phase.
meaning that they can't be sweeping advanced. Veeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeery useful.
Yeah, except for the small fact that sweeping advance works alot differently now. It used to be true that if they lost the leadership test, they fell back, and if the opponent sweeping advanced, and caught up to them, the unit would be destroyed. Now, under the new rules, there is no sweeping advance unless the enemy unit is completely annhilated (d6 massacre move). If a unit fails its leadership check, then both units roll an intiative check. If the losing unit wins the initiative check, it falls back sucessfully and moves its 2d6 fall back move. If it loses the initiative check, it fails to break away from the combat, and is utterly destroyed by winning unit, who then gets to make a massacre move (d6 consolidation). For Space Marines, if they have to fall back, what this means is that if they fail the intiative check, they simply remain in combat as if it had been a drawn combat. The opponent gets to consolidate all his troops into combat, before the SM player does however.
Remember though, that if you are caught, you take saves for being outnumbered. Also that you can never have to take more than 3 saves from this, I checked the rulebook just now because my group always had trouble with that.
Hive Fleet Furi Kuri 32/21/4
Tomb Kings: 8/5/2
Im in ur Halo, killin ur covernantz