Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Sorry for this newb question, but how effective are Teleport Homers? How do you use them, and who do you give them to?
My IG background doesn't give me a lot of Deep Striking experience, other Metlagun Stormtroopers, and that has been of mixed results.
I'm a little scared of my 300 pt GKFA squad dropping off the table or on to another squad.
"A love for tradition has never weakened a nation, indeed it has strengthened nations in their hour of peril."
Sir Winston Churchil
I only have two in my 2500pt army. They're very useful, but you don't exactly need them on every character.
I put them on IST Vets, but only when that IST unit has a transport. Works especially well with meltagun ISTs, since you'll be driving those right up to the enemy anyways.
You can also put them on FAGK Justicars (*not* PAGK Justicars, as they're too slow). Now, TP Homers don't work when they're off the table. But say one of your FAGK units is coming down, and you don't have a homer where you'd like one. Land the FAGK using the scatter rules, then in subsequent turns you have a TP Homer in that location. Works with FAGK Justicars and BC/GM's.
One thing I've seen people do which I wholeheartedly suggest NOT doing is to put one on a PAGK Justicar and put that unit into an LR/LRC. That right there is a 500pt+ unit! If you want to put a Homer into an LR/LRC, I actually suggest taking an Elite Inquisitor, with no gear or retinue aside from the Homer, and sticking him inside that tank. If the enemy manages to kill the LR/LRC thinking it contains an expensive unit, no big loss (or rather, less of a big loss). If it survives, then you've basically got a tank with a Teleport Homer (since I'm fairly certain they CAN be used while the carrying model is inside a transport). Of course, you lose the ability to assault out of that LR/LRC, but to me thats no big loss.
It's too bad that you cannot give items from one army's armoury (DH) to characters from other armys (inducted IG). I have two Armored Fist squads that could use them, similar to the IST/transport units I mentioned above.
Never bother putting them on walking models. They'll rarely be in an advanced location when the DSing unit(s)'s reserve roll(s) come up.
Now, you also mentioned that you're worried about losing the squad to a bad scatter roll. It isn't a big deal as long as you DS them into reasonable places. For example, never try and DS a unit within 6" or so of the table edge - even with a marginally bad scatter roll, you can survive that distance. Same with impassable terrain, since DSing onto that is an autokill for the unit (impassable, NOT difficult. Difficult terrain has no effect on DSers). Also, don't try and DS literally inside the enemy force (without a Homer), that's just asking for bad scatter.
My own tactic for DSing multiple units is to pincer the enemy. I DS them all near each other, but behind the enemy forces, with my non-DSing forces directly on the other side of the enemy. It works great, as the advancing enemy suddenly has to worry about assaults and shooting from both sides - negating a lot of cover and putting rear-AV-10 vehicles in a nasty position.
I'm one of those people who puts a full PAGK squad in and LRC with a TH, runs it forward, and then DS's either my HQ or GKT on them for the fire support, after which the PAGK assault the enemy to keep them from firing back. Yes, it's a hella expensive combo, and yes it's a lot of eggs in one basket. but it's an AV14, adamantium clad basket. And so far, it's worked fantastically 5 outta 5 times.