Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey everyone. I was reading a passage on this site http://www.torchlight.org.uk/Marine/...Tactics_HQ.php and as you can read it says that any space marine army can take it as an HQ choice but can also stil have 2 other normal HQ choices. Can someone please explain this to me because I have an emperors champion model in my BA army and I've just been using him as a normal HQ plus my Chappie. If I can get anothe rHQ it may be usefull. Please let me know what is true.
W-1 L-0 D-0
I don't think your allowed to use the emp's champ anymore unless your BT.
40K armies: Tyranids (2001), Space Wolves (2008), Sisters of Battle (2011)
Current Rep: 1337
Yeah but he said that he has been using him as a normal HQ aswell.So are you using him as the actual EC or just a normal HQ?
Well since the new black templars codex is not out yet i beleive that you can still use the emperors champion in any space marine army as the old rules have not been overridden yet. If that will still be the case when the new codex comes out i don't know.
you can't use the EC in a none BT army because it is only stated in the BT codex.
DonÂ´t mess with the dicegod
Its also in Chapter Approved 2003 (I think) I always thought you could take it in any army. After all, in a WD battle report where space wolves were fighting khorne traitor guardsmen he had a champion of Russ. His name was different, his equipment had different names, but it cost the same and it did the same thing.
<(^^)> <(^^<) (>^^)> ^(^^)^ Dance Kirby! Dance!
Right basically it works like this:
In third edition it was legal to take the Emperor's Champion in ANY Space Marine army. Not just Black Templars, consult your third edition SM codex if you don't believe me. However:
With the release of the fourth edition SM codex, the Emperor's Champion no longer became a legal option in a Space Marine army. BT were still allowed to take them (well had to take one), as per their FAQ. However until some clarification arrives from GW some models (Captain Cortez, Sergeant Lysander and the EC) cannot be used in Fourth Edition armies.
So to sum up, you used to be able to, but no.
Last edited by Addoran; August 26th, 2005 at 15:23.
Damn. Oh well he still makes a nice looking normal HQ. Thnaks for all the help guys
W-1 L-0 D-0
Yeah its true you use him any more but he sure does make a nice Master.I use him as my Master model and he lookes great.
Hopefully they will get rules relased in white dwarf as it took them 6 years to make an emperors champion model and a model for Captain Corteaz and it just seems silly that you can't take them now. As for not being able to take an emperors champion in any army but black templars that is a stupid as the first emperors champion was Sigusmund an imperial fist.