Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I just got a ton of IG stuff on ebay and it came in today. Included were 4 assassins and the assassins codex. I really want to use the Vindicare sniper assassin in my army, but I was told that the entire assassin codex is outdated and can't be used or something. If so, wtf? If not, would anybody with previous experience with assassins recommend the vindicare one? He seems like he's the best.
I'm pretty sure that you need an Inquisitor to use a assasin. Personaly i like the vindicare, he's one savage of a sniper. Sorry i can't be anymore help about the rules for them or anything. have fun .
What the hell is an inquisitor? I'm looking through this assassins codex and it doesn't mention anything about the inquisition. Just says that only one assassin can be used per army, and it takes up an elite choice. And one more question. Does the Vindicare sniper pin a squad like a regular sniper does if he kills a model?
Inquistors? pick up a Daemon Hunter or a Witch Hunter Codex. I believe that the only way to get an assasin in a IG force is to take one as a DH or WH ally. It says some where in on of those codex's that you need an Inquisitor to have an assasin. I think since the Vindicare uses a sniper rifle he would pin an enemy squad. I think that all sniper rifles can pin enemy units, but I don't have my rule book on me so I'm not positive.
Mike is here to answer all your questions!
The Vindicare can Pin units if he kills a model and if they fail thier Pinning Test.
To use thye said asassins, you need to do a few things:
1] Pick up either the Witch Hunter or Deamon Hunter Codex (it dosen't really matter, but you should still do your research)
2] Convert or Buy an Inquisitor Lord (HQ) and then set up your list to include the Inquisitor Lord as an HQ choice and then the Assassin as the Elite choice as allowed by the Allie rules found in the WH and DH Codexes.
Thats it more or less.
PS: Inquisitors are like the FBI Agents of 40K world to an extent. They can commission the aide of and Imperial Citizen, and each belong to an Ordo which concentrates on one of the Imperium's Enemies:
- Ordo Xenos (Alien Hunters vs Aliens][Not available yet)
- Ordo Herecticus (Witch Hunters vs Heretic, Traitiors and Psykers)
- Ordo Malleus (Deamon Hunters vs Deamons)
I have a Demon Hunter codex here. Yeah yeah, I found it saying I can only take the officinado assassins or something if I have an Inquisitor or an Inquisitor lord. An Inquisitor lord is HQ and a regular Inquisitor is an Elite choice. It says that if I want to use the Demonhunters as allies to a different army (my IG army) I can have 0-1 Elite choices. Does that mean I can't take both the regular Inquisitor and the Vindicare assassin? If so, that's retarted. Will I HAVE to take the lord if I wanna use the assassin as an ally? I'd rather not. I'm not sure if I'd still be allowed to take a regular IG HQ in addition to that. I don't want to lose my heavy weapons support attachments of the IG HQ. Someone please clear this up.
Hey,Porcupine.So You're ready for some one shot,one kill fun,eh?Well,I've got some bad news.
Assassins aren't a Guard unit per se.Throw away your assassin codex after you've looked at the cool pictures.(Just kidding)
The only way to field an assassin in your guard army is by taking an Inquisitor lord of one sort or another.
Repeat-Assassins are now only fielded with an Inquisitor force,so You'll have to pick up one of the ---Hunters codices
I use Daemonhunters allies w/my guard and after I take an Inquisitor lord I have the option of taking an assassin as an elite choice.I don't usually,though even though I have the Callidus model because I'd rather toss in two Daemonhosts for the price.
Yes the sniper assassin is pretty cool if you want to snipe enemy lieutanants and such,but your Guard army already knows how to shoot.Sounds like you got all of the assassin models so throw in some counterassault.
Darn it,the phone rang while I was typing.I got scooped.
Yes,Porcupine,you HAVE to take a Lord to get an assassin.No allying with witchunter and Daemonhunter tricks,either
Last edited by Ikeaboy; August 25th, 2005 at 06:58.
Counterassault?... COUNTERASSAULT? Assault isn't in my vocabulary, my friend. I have a bad ass sniper leaning on a broken skull of his victim waiting to rail someone with penetrator special round and you're talking about counterassault? I like to think that I'll mow everything that wants to get its hands dirty down before it.. well.. gets its hands dirty. Of course all I've ever faced is Tau. And that's probably all I'll face for a while... but in any case, no deal on those Demonhosts. Not even because I'd rather snipe, but because I don't have any of those models. Just the assassins. I'll just nominate my female comissar as the lord and use the assassin... so can I still take anti-tank and anti-inf. squads attached to my HQ even if the HQ is the Inquisitor lord? I mean.. I'm still fielding an IG army. If it cancels out those squads it's not worth it times 10.
Good,you've got the codex.Now,did you already want to have two units of stormtroopers?Would you like the option of putting them in a Rhino instead of a Chimera?
Would you like a power armoured,move and shoot,psychic powered HQ?
Maybe a Daemonhunter list with Guard allies is for you.
No,the Lord doesn't cacel out your Command squad.He/She is taken as your second HQ choice in the Force Organization chart