Welcome to Librarium Online!
I can't wait till the new plastic Assault Termies come out so I'm allready planning what to put on them and what to do with them. I'm thinking 3 Termies with Thunderhammer and storm shield and then one with dual lighting claws. The seargent will have a storm shield and a Chain fist and Master Crafted weapon. I'm going to stick the sqaud with my Chaplain just because when i roll for Death company on my squads, (Since i dont get D3+3 cuz he's not on his own) the death company marines will act as cannon fodder for the Termies becuase they join the chaplian's squad. I'm going to get some bikes and give the bike seargent teleport homer so the termies will land right where i need them. Does anyone have any additions to this or think anything could be better thought out. Thnaks for the help guys and good hunting :cool:
W-1 L-0 D-0
Just remember that you can't assault on the same turn you Deepstrike, so your Terminators will be standing around for a full turn. Try and drop them behind cover or a melee or something so they don't get shot up.
Last edited by Zanzibar; September 14th, 2005 at 05:05.
With regards to tactics or Blood Angels fluffiness I cannot help much.
As for the rest:
Unless you master-craft the chainfist, your sergeant is illegal. Storm shield counts as a weapon, so you cannot pair it with both a chainfist and another weapon. Master-crafting is much less useful with the Chaplain in the squad, drop it. I would think hard about giving the Serge dual lightning claws also, as the extra chance of wounding (compared to a power weapon) and the extra attack and better initiative compared to a chain fist (especially if this unit can benefit from Furious Charge) are very useful. A 5+ invulnerable as opposed to a 4+ invulnerable isn't that big a deal on a non-IC. If you must have a chainfist on the serge trade one of the Thunder Hammer/Storm Shield models for another dual lightning claw one. If you are going with that many thunder hammer models, you may as well take a normal termie squad and benefit from the storm bolters.
On the death company:
How exactly is it that they join a squad made up of the Chaplain and the Termies? Assault Termies aren't an option for command squads, so the chaplain still counts as a separate unit for deployment (this also means that it is likely that the termies and the chaplain will not arrive on the same turn) and my understanding was that the death company would join him as he is deployed (that is when my regular BA opponent rolls for them anyway). If that is the case then they would form a unit with the Chaplain, who wouldn't be able to leave and join the termie squad.
Now I really need to buy the rulebook. An Independant Character can't start the game in a squad that isn't a Command squad? Blah! That sucks. My list is in trouble...
They can normally but in this case we're talking about a Blood Angel Chaplain who comes with D3+3 Death Company marines (I.E. retinue) so he can't then join another unit.Originally Posted by Zanzibar
Ah, I see. Thanks!
a chaplin can have an assault termie command squad donĀ“t have the codex with me now but I think he can
DonĀ“t mess with the dicegod
Not going by Codex: Space Marines.
I don't know about Codex: Blood Angels though, their Chaplains might be able to. But I doubt it, that is the purpose which the Death Company fulfills.
Corianis has it correct.
Codex Space Marines only allows for shooty Terminator Command Squads, not Assault ones.
Blood Angel Chaplains cost extra points (over Codex Chaplains) and include Death Company marines as a retinue so they may not take a Command Squad of any sort. This is noted in the Chapter Approved FAQ which you can download from the GW website if there is any further confusion.
Yup, thats how it works.Originally Posted by Lleu
Secondly, as BA, termies arent the best idea. Loosing them to deathcompany is a pain.
Lastly, assault terminators, are in general, poor units. Do to their lack of shooting, they tend to spend most of the game chasing targets. If your oponent has heavy infantry he intends to send against you, they can be a benefit, but in general, especially due to their lack of sweeping advance, they make poor units for dealing with masses of infantry. I would highly advise ALL SM commanders to stay away from Assault terminators untill you are playing at least 3k points. At such a size a LR with assault terminators is not going to eat up all your points. In anything lower however, they tend to never be worth what you pay for them.
Mentor of Space Marine Commanders far and wide.
Efficiency VS Point Cost VS Ease Of Use - Your best bets:
1) Chaplain led Assault squad - 2 plasma pistols, powerfisted sergeant
2) 8 man Devastator squad - 4 missile launchers
3) Land Speeder Tornado - HB + AC